Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
very surprised with these, my family could not say enough. I made my own self rise flour and wow what a great biscuit. I also used powdered butter milk that you find int he baking isle and it lasts a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are amazing! Made them exactly as written with perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Awesome biscuits! Pretty easy too. On par or better than any biscuit I have ever had at a restaurant. Teena, whoever you are, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Dough was really sticky and I needed a lot of extra flour but in the end the biscuits were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was my first time making homemade biscuits and I loved the way they turned out. I followed the recipe exactly except used butter flavor shortening because that was all I had at the time. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I found these biscuits to be very light fluffy and tastey, the Buttermilk and a nice touch. My problem is with the cooking temperature- They did not have time to brown on top before the bottoms were over-cooked. I will lower the temp to 415* next time to see if that helps. I also will try brushing the tops with butter on a few to see if that helps them brown faster. Great biscuits !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These are the best biscuits I ever made! Kudos to Tina. Fluffy and flaky and tender - yum! I did make one slight change - instead of shortening, I used half lard and half butter. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i am giving these a 5 stars becuse even with my mess ups, they still turned out well. make sure you use self rising flour. i did not pay attention and did not and had to do some modifications to make work. will try again to make these right. i also followed suggestions on butter flavored shortening and brushing with butter after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Best biscuits I've ever made at home, and my kidlet is always asking me to make them. I love being able to start these the night before and let them rest. I don't keep self-rising flour around, so following another user's tip, I added 2 tbsp baking powder and 1 tbsp salt to the flour. They turned out perfect - high and light, and melts-in-your-mouth. Note that the dough is really sticky when you dump it out of the bowl. Also, remember not to twist the biscuit cutter when you make the circles if you want high biscuits. Changes: I like these better with butter-flavor shortening, just a personal preference. Also, I've subbed up to 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour for a nutritional boost, and it did not affect the recipe. Dumped in a tbsp of garlic powder & a mix of herbs one time for herbed garlic biscuits, and that was a very yummy change-up. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's my new standard. EDIT: made them last night but forgot the buttermilk - used just plain 'ole almond milk. They still rose as good as the Bisquick ones do, and tasted great. These are truly foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening, and regular flour + baking powder. Nice, fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States