Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These were tasty biscuits! I substituted half of the shortening with butter, but kept everything else the same. I also just cut mine into squares with a pizza cutter. They rise super high this way! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Biscuits have always been my downfall. I have tried a bazillion different recipes, and THIS is the ONE! Easy, and they come out PERFECT. I love that I can throw them together the night before then just bake them. I am not a morning person, so these are great. I made them for the first time today and DH requested them again for tomorrow. Great recipe, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These biscuits really plumped up! I added some baking powder as others suggested, and used milk that was one day beyond it's expiration date. The result was a fluffy, flavorful biscuit. These biscuits were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is one recipe that I would give more stars to if I could...they are that good! I loved that the dough was made the night before, because it makes life easier the next day. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used the 'self-rising flour' substitute recipe from here, as I do not keep that on hand. I got 16 of the most tender, delicious, beautifully risen homemade biscuits. I was actually proud of myself at how well these turned out, lol! This will be my new go-to biscuit recpe from now on! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I was afraid I'd over kneaded the dough too much, but they turned out great. I think the sugar gives it a little different taste than I'm used to, but they're very good as is. I think I might try leaving it out the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These are good. The biscuits turn out soft with a moist inside. I subbed a couple tablespoons butter for some of the shortening for flavor and flakiness. I've been making biscuits for 35 years, and these are some of the easiest and certainly most convenient. I still prefer my usual recipe when I want flaky biscuits, but these are great when I want softer biscuits. They get 5 stars for the ease and the taste! NOTE to anyone making this recipe...you cannot use all-purpose flour unless you add your leavening ingredients and make your own self-rising flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These are soo good and light and fluffy! They taste like something you get at a restaurant! They are so easy to make and with a few ingredients! I will be making these again! I made them the night before, so they would be ready for breakfast. I even rolled & cut them out and arranged into my pan and covered with plastic wrap and set in fridge overnight. Ok, I didn't have self-rising flour, so i did this (1 cup all-purpose flour, 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt= that makes 1 cup of slf-rising flour). I also, didn't have buttermilk and just used 1 TBL of vinegar in a measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it sit for 10 minutes. I did use 1 stick cold butter instead of shortening. Then added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I was able to get 11 biscuits. These came out so good and I love them! UPDATE: I made these again and used 1/2 cup of shortening and they were very fluffy and delicious! I did add 1 tsp vanilla and rolled them out and got 14 biscuits. I rolled them out about 1/2 in thickness instead of 1 inch. They rose fine and were not oversized. I love these biscuits! They are so easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Only 5 hrs of resting and 3 grandkids all clammering to help cut & roll out - flour here / flour there - and they still tasted absolutely fantastic. My new favorite biscuit recipe. I can't wait to see how they turn out once I have a change to make them in peace and quiet lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
very surprised with these, my family could not say enough. I made my own self rise flour and wow what a great biscuit. I also used powdered butter milk that you find int he baking isle and it lasts a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States