Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Great recipe! So easy to make and they came about beautifully light & fluffy! Can't wait to make these again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I am pretty sure I reviewed this already, but I couldn't find my review, so I'm reviewing again! This Buttermilk biscuit recipe is amazing! I have made them a few times now. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used a buttermilk substitute - 2 TBSP white vinegar + enough milk to equal 2 cups. I also added a pinch of salt to the recipe. This recipe made 18 biscuits for me, however I didn't have a 2" biscuit cutter and used a cup. My dough may not of been rolled 1" thick either. I baked 4 biscuits immediately after I allowed the dough to rest. Then I wrapped the remainder dough in saran wrap and placed in the fridge for about 6-7 hours. I cut my biscuits and took out about 6 and froze those and baked the rest. In my opinion, whether baked immediately or after allowing to sit in fridge, they were amazing. The frozen ones were still good, but not as amazing as the fresh, they seemed a little dense. I put them on a cookie sheet frozen, used a preheated oven at 400 and baked until browned, about 24 minutes. This will be my Buttermilk Biscuit recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
As a first time biscuit maker I have a question. When the directions state "Wrap in plastic wrap and refridgerate overnight" do you place them in a bowl and then cover the bowl in plastic wrap or literally wrap the ball of dough fully in plastic wrap? How does the dough rise if it is wrapped fully in plastic wrap?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe twice (because I believed the first was my mistake). These are just too heavy than I'd like. My kids enjoy them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I think something is missing in the ingredients. I continued to bake my bisquits longer than called for and they were gooey in the middle,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyaliceBlueEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Thanks to the user who included the substitution for all-purpose flour (add 2 Tablespoons baking powder, 1 T salt). I made sure not to wiggle the cutter and these biscuits doubled in height! I would keep them 2-inches in diameter. I cut out 12 2-inch biscuits and still had extra dough so I just cut out 3-inch biscuits. Those big ones doubled in height and fell over half-way through cooking. But big or little, these taste wonderful and are super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
easy and so delicious. Stay really good for a couple of days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is an awesome reciepe! Making it the day before made breakfast a breeze. I am going to freeze the unused dough to make fast school morning breakfasts. I followed another members suggestion to add kosher salt, a tsp was all that was needed and it gave the biscuit extra flavor, I used parchment paper on the baking pan and they turned out perfectly. Thanks so much for this reciepe, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
These were ok, but not as good as the buttermilk biscuits I grew up with. They rose beautifully but there just wasn't much taste to them. They would probabaly be pretty good with honey or something sweet on them, but just with butter they were a little lackluster. I think if I make them again I will leave them in the oven a little longer, too. They were a little on the doughy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These are easy and delicious! I brushed the top with butter so they would golden up. My daughter thought they looked like perfect little biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States