Ted's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
With the exception of swapping fresh mushrooms for the peas, I followed this recipe exactly. The vegetables were perfectly cooked, the consistency was great, but the stew didn't have one bit of flavor. I added some tomato paste and wine just before serving, which helped a little. I'd like to try this recipe again; maybe to figure out what went wrong. Also, personal preference, but the cornstarch seemed to give the stew a slimy feel. No one else commented on that, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow. I don't cook much and I am always looking for easy family recipes. I have all boys and this recipe with white rice was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was a great recipe. I did substitute mushrooms for the peas and I added a bit extra on the seasoning but other then that everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe as stated but didn't add the peas. It was easy to throw together and put in the crock pot for a busy day. After tasting added some A1 and worcheshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great! This is just the stew recipe I've been looking for. I made no changes except for serving over rice. It was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
need to use stew meat,,, vavoom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Made exactly as directed...I assume you meant English peas..thats what i used...anyway..next time I will use a little more carrots and potatoes...and about 2 more cups of beef broth along with 1 cup of vegetable broth..very good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great basic stew recipe! The other day i didnt have beef broth or beef stew meat so i substituted chicken broth and pork meat and it was great! Kind of like chicken pot pie without the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
A huge hit with my family! My husband rated it a 5, and he doesn't usually like beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It was both easy to prepare and a excellent stew. I did substitute venison for the beef since deer season had been kind to me. Since I have no small kids I also added a bit of Worstchestire and Texas Pete, to taste. I also didn't have any frozen peas but found a regular can of baby peas works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States