Tea Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Graham
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is my all-time favorite cookie and make them for Christmas every year. This taste of this cookie is very similar to shortbread cookies, but softer and almost melt in your mouth. I don't know what went wrong with the other reviewer's batch, but I doubled the recipe and made these exactly as the recipe calls for, and these turned out PERFECT! There are a couple of things you might be tempted to do with this recipe that you have to refrain from doing. Don't make the cookies too large; they will grow and expand while baking. Also, you may be tempted to bake these too long because they won't look done, but that's the way they are supposed to look. They are NOT supposed to be brown at all. In this particular batch in the photo I used pecans instead of walnuts, but they are sumptuous either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was an excellent cookie, although there are several steps that weren't really neccessary at all. There was no need to refrigerate the dough, 1t of baking powder is all you need, 3/4c of butter, and you can substitute the powder sugar in the dough for regular sugar. I subbed the walnuts for crushed pecans, and baked the cookies for only 10 minutes. Also don't worry if the dough is too crumbly; the warmth of your hands will keep the dough from spilling through your fingers. They came out just like the premixed cookie gift recipes -that is exactly what I was trying to recreate. Note: This is a very delicate cookie.....Mission Accomplished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big China

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I was looking for a tea cookie recipe that my sister used to make. This was definitly not it. This recipe was so dry. It would not hold together. After refrig. it, the dough was falling apart and would bearly hold together to squeeze it into a ball. It tasted dry. I might try using reg. sugar instead of powder sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEECOOK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Great cookies. I have always known these cookies as "Mexican Wedding Cakes". I used pecans instead of walnuts (I chopped the pecans very finely) and used half butter and half Crisco. I made very small cookies - this recipe made 45 cookies. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe. It was exactly what I was looking for. The cookies were easy to make and tasted just right. I used a dough hook to make the dough less crumbly and easier to work, and I sugared the surface I rolled it out on to make it less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These cookies are indeed excellent! I used fine ground walnuts, it came out so good, we could not stop eating! It really makes a difference if you have them in the refrigerator before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made these smaller, so there would be a small possibility of portion control... hopes were dashed, because I couldn't stop eating them. WONDERFUL cookie, though. But if you're going to make them smaller, do around seven minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SofiaSasparilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This recipe is a sure-shot deal. No less than five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious!! I subbed pecans for the walnuts (not a big walnut fan) and doubled the nuts, and they were sooo good! I made these for my daughter's birthday tea party and there were very few left at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I LOVE these cookies! we bought s box at cub foods, and i at all of them (24) in as many half-hours! they are to die for. warning! you will become addicted to russian tea cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States