Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
GREAT!!! The taste and texture were quite wonderful. I left the butter in slightly larger pieces, which I think adds to flakiness, and I got eleven 3-inch biscuits out of this recipe. The first person who tried them said they were much better than his wife's, and he asked for the recipe! I've tried several other popular biscuit recipes from this site, and I like this one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
YUMMY!!! Wonderful -used butter flavored crisco and turned out perfect. Should have made them bigger so it would look like I only ate 2 when I really ate 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I lost my grandmother's recipe for tea biscuits and now that she's gone I thought I'd never have them again. This comes pretty close! I'm used to English tea biscuits that are sweeter or more like scones so here's my modifications: I used 1/2 c. of butter instead of shortening, added 1/2 c. of sugar, 1/2 c. of raisns, and 1/4 tsp. of active dry yeast. I didn't knead the dough or cut it. I just dropped it onto the cookie sheet by tablespoons. They baked up nice and brown. If you add the raisins just butter them, if not just add butter and jelly and serve with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe really is quick and easy. I just made these biscuits for the second time this week and added approx. 2 cups of grated marble cheese before adding the milk. They turned out great. Next time I plan on sprinkling some extra cheese on top before popping them in the oven for an even cheesier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
These are very nice biscuits and the dough isn't a horrible mess to work with. I often think bread recipes don't call for enough salt, so I added a little more salt. I don't recommend doing that. These are salty enough with the called for amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
These biscuits were GREAT, especially drizzled with organic agave! Per reviewers' suggestions I used 1/4c. butter and 1/4c. shortening. Also cut back on the salt. A great reviewers' suggestion I tried was to use saran wrap on a dampened countertop to roll the dough out on. This really cut down on the flour mess. Will not buy store bought biscuits again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
These were very good, best when fresh out of the oven. I made 8 larger biscuits and didn't roll out the dough but patted it down with my fingertips. Followed the recipe exactly and they were done in 12 minutes. Defintily don't over-bake these are they'll be too dry. We ate these with soft butter and strawberries preserves but I think that honey would be devine! They were a bit flaky on the outside and very tender on the inside. A bit bland alone but a very good base for something sweet on top. I also bet they'd be good with sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These tea biscuits are fluffy, cripsy, buttery, flavourful, melt in your mouth ... In other words, absolute perfection! Plus, they're magnificent no matter how you go about preparing them: By following the recipe exactly as it's written, by baking them as drop biscuts as opposed to rolled biscuits, by adding in chopped up onion, grated cheese, and garlic powder, or even adding a couple tablespoons of sugar and a half cup or so of raisins! Bottom line: If you're scouring AllRecipes.Com for the perfect tea biscuit recipe, then I suggest you call off the search this instant --- Because you've already found what you're looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Perfect, incredibly easy to make, easy to roll, was ready in 5 mins to the oven with a stand mixer. These will be come a new house stand by. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!This was a very/considerably great flavourful snack for breakfast, lunch ,or dinner.It is very delightful with any jam!MMMMmmmmmmm!My cousins loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States