Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good! This is the first time I have made hand made biscuits and I couldn't have picked a better recipe. I usually turn away from recipes that use a pastry cutter, but these were not a mess at all! Perfectly fluffy and moist, just enough of everything. Great with sausage gravy. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only thing I did differently was change the shortening to butter and they came out excellent! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
i am lactose intolerant so i made this with lactose free milk, added half a container of tofutti french onion cream cheese and 1/4 cup of veggie oil. cut my tofutti into the dough as my replacement for butter/shortening since i didn't have shortening. They turned out PERFECT! They were a hit with the family and i was asked to make them exactly the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Made these mini, added black pepper for a little spike. Like them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
absolutely amazing. I add 2 cups of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great. These turned out very nice. I used spectrum shortening. As some others mention, I did not bother rolling and cutting them. I just broke the dough into 9 equal balls and put them on a baking sheet. Very tasty, especially with blackberry jam. I have very little cooking experience, but this went very well. Easy recipe! It's quick enough to make along with a fresh pot of tea. (I had them in the oven in about 10 minutes. Could do it a lot faster on a second try, or if I was more experienced in the kitchen.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These are DELICIOUS! I have made a few with the baking soda & do not like them (not sure how people could rate this recipe when they used baking soda not baking powder). I like the baking powder biscuits. These are very soft. I used real lard. & Dropped spoonfuls as well. They are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
just made these. I used mostly palm oil (organic shortening) with a little olive oil for the fat base and substituted 1/2 c whole wheat flour for 1/2 c of the white flour. They turned out really fluffy, crispy, yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I subbed butter, they were delicious and airy!- but didn't really rise much. I will try again later an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These biscuits are quick and easy. I changed the ingredients a bit: a 1/2 & 1/2 of white and whole-wheat flour, butter instead of shortening and almond milk instead of dairy milk. These biscuits came out light and fluffy and I will definitely use this recipe again. (Also, left out some of the baking powder per some complaints. It wasn't much, went with 3 1/2 teaspoons instead of a full 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States