Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is my favorite biscuit recipe so far. The only change I made was substituting about 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat. I got 7 biscuits using a large cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
All we could taste was the baking powder. Even after drowning it in butter and smothering it in jelly. I felt like I was going to choke because they were so dry. Sorry, but I won't be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbonado, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Wow! Tender-crisp top and bottom and melt-in-your-mouth, flaky on the inside. Just a little salty for my personal taste so I'll cut it by 1/4 tsp next time but the texture is so amazing that this is now going to be my mainstay recipe for biscuits. Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mightymite
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I added 1 cup corn flour as a substitute and a 1/4 cup smelt flour. Worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These biscuits are super easy, light and melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grandfalls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loreli26
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made these tonight to go with soup. I read some of the reviews and halved the amount of baking powder since another reader wrote about there being too much, and I also added the marble cheese that another reader suggested and they turned out terrific :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
If your biscuits taste like baking powder, check the ingredients and get one that is aluminum free. I use Rumford and it works great. Also, I prefer using butter instead of shortening or even cold lard. (Never said this was a health conscious mixture, but they are oh so good!) I will also use 1 tbs. of sugar, 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and two tbs. of dried buttermilk mixed with the dry ingredients and instead of regular milk, I use cold buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good recipe, they were really light and very tasty. I had to add 3 more tablespoons of milk to the dough as it was a little dry, maybe because I'm baking at altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Too salty for me. To be fair I did use salted butter instead of shortening, but I doubt that I'll make these again. Really not what I was looking for in a biscuit. Super easy, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a very good, reliable recipe. Like some others, I use butter instead of shortening and reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. My favorite variation is to add about a 1/4 pound of crisp, crumbled bacon and a 1/4 pound of shredded Colby cheese after cutting in the butter, then mix in the milk. Bake as usual, split while hot, and pile in scrambled eggs. You're ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States