Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! and equally loved how quick and easy it was. I did make some changes though, just to make it my own. Instead of shortening I used salted butter (that was all I had!) and I omitted the salt, since the butter had salt in it. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and about 3/4 cup of toffee bits. They turned out fabulously and my family has already eaten half of them (I took them out of the oven an hour ago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Curtiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
As written they taste too much like shortening but the quantities are dead. As another reviewer suggested use half butter and you have a better tasting biscuit.....happy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made my mom's recipes for tea biscuits for years. It looks the same as this one. One thing I did change and it cut down on the prep work was rolling out the dough. I just drop by the table spoon and they are great. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I've used this recipe several times, and like many of the other reviews I've read, instead of using shortening I used butter. The butter gives it a nice taste. My family loves this biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Ooh, these are very yummy. I made the sweet version to use as dessert with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. I used butter as the shortening and added 1/2 cup white sugar, otherwise kept everything the same. They came out deliciously sweet. Those who prefer their sweets a little more savory would be fine with an addition of 1/4 sugar. I did find that 12 minutes was too long in my oven - I'd check them at 10 minutes to see how they're doing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
pretty good, they come out small though, certainly if you're going to make 20, I would make 10 larger ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
The first time I made these they were delightful except they became very chewy overnight so the next time I made them I stored them in a Tupperware container in the freezer and microwaved them for 5 seconds to make them warm. I also usually put extra butter in to make it soft and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I don't know what made me try this recipe. I have a good recipe already for biscuits. I was really disappointed with these and my husband thought they were inedible. They were just salty bitter hockey pucks. Sad too. I had some buckwheat honey that was collected that morning. I was really wanting a warm biscuit and fresh honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
SO Easy SOOO Good. I didn't have any shortening so I substituted margarine (I'm sure butter would work even better). I also had a bit of cream cheese (about a tablespoon) so I threw that in as well. I added a table spoons of brown sugar and I also used whole wheat flour. Sprinkled some flax seeds on top and these babies are flaky and light and delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made these for my co-workers - and they RAVED out them. Served up with homemade freshly picked strawberry jam - perfect. Even plain, they tasted great. For my own twist, just because I'm not always a fan of salt - I cut the salt in half, and added a tablespoon of sugar just to give them a little sweet kick for those who prefer no jam. Nothing but thumbs up from my hungry workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States