Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good recipe. I grated the butter (cold or could use frozen) I use unsalted as I like to control my salt. I also added grated cheese but you could use dried cranberries and finely grated lemon zest. I don't like baking with shortening as a personal preference but also the hydrogenated fats are worse for you than the saturated fat in butter. If I am going to eat fat in moderation I'd rather have the real thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misspie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was a really good recipe but salt needs depend on what you use as an oil base. If using unsalted butter or shortening you may need more salt, whereas if you use salted butter this amount may work. I will try with salted butter and see next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent biscuits. Added grated cheddar. MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These biscuits are AWESOME. I've been craving biscuits for a few days but didn't really feel like dealing with the hassle of making them. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. These were so easy to make and tasted amazing! The only modification I made was instead of two cups of all purpose four I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose, used my stand mixer, kneaded on the counter 8 ish times and used a round cookie cutter. They were perfect in 12 minutes. They are perfect in every way. Great with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Just made these this morning. I took the advice of previous reviewers and made a few changes of my own. Used 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Added 1 tablespoon of sugar. Also added 1/2 cup raisins. Finally, did an egg wash as recommended on another biscuit recipe on this site. Served with a little mango butter (from Trader Joe's) on top. They are amazing. My husband and sons loved them. I am so happy to be able to make something so delicious with minimal effort that is relatively healthy as well. Thanks to all the previous reviewers for their comments. They are truly helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were nice, light, and fluffy biscuits . Delicious with strawberry jam! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is my go to recipe for rainy days or a little indulgence. I love these biscuits warm with butter, dipped in gravy, they never let me down. However I find that if I make the full recipe they don't last very well, so I recommend only making as many you think will be eaten. They are fabulous with garlic and herbs mixed in, my favorite is cheese and dill. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My batch turned out hard and crumbly. I personally find them to be bitter and very salty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I liked how easy they were to make, but they were a little too... I don't know, bready or something (for my taste). They were still good, just not my style of biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla
Photo by MAEMAE3
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband made these today. He grew up with them and he said they taste exactly the same. He used butter (unsalted) instead of crisco. We had them with beef stew he made from this website yesterday. Wonderful together - biscuits and beef stew! I'm going to make some flavored butter (honey and butter) to go with his next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAEMAE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States