Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These turned out really well but quite salty. I ended up using butter rather than shortening. Not sure if the butter made it more flakey but it did make it taste very buttery. I rolled them out and let them rest for about half an hour before baking in hopes that they would rise more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Mm! Just a bit of butter & honey, made this the perfect tea time treat! This is a wonderful recipe!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I am all about simplicity and used to make them help of the box kind ;). This is the first time I made them from scratch and don't know how often I will because they are so yummy I want to eat them all!!! Great for leftover turkey and gravy - oh the memories they bring back...mmmmm chomp, chomp mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zrye
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These biscuits were awesome. I love how quick and easy the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
March 30th, 2013 - I tried this recipe for the first time today. Based on all the feedback I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp., added 1/3 c. sugar, and used butter in place of the shortening. The first batch came out of the oven lightly browned, tasty and light. The recipe yielded 12 biscuits with not quite the height of the picture displayed in recipe. Since I needed at least 15 I repeated the recipe. Interestingly enough, even using the very same process, the dough was stickier. I used a smaller round cutter in an effort to get height and yield a few more biscuits, but they came out flatter then the first batch and not as flaky. It is surprising that a recipe can have such different results in two batches. Overall, I'm going to try them again. Hopefully they'll turn out like the first batch because they were really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were AMAZING! But they didn't make the 20 so I doubled it and made it 40 and they turned out so good and so thick! I brought some to work with me and everyone who had them loved them! And they were so easy to make! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
good recipe, they were very tasty although they were a little salty. I didn't put as much as asked and it was still too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianna Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Yummy! These were simple and tasted great! I added some parmesan, garlic powder and a couple of handfuls of shredded cheddar to these and instead of cutting the dough, just formed balls that I patted down. Turned out perfectly. This was so easy I'll get my 6-year-old to help me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good! This is the first time I have made hand made biscuits and I couldn't have picked a better recipe. I usually turn away from recipes that use a pastry cutter, but these were not a mess at all! Perfectly fluffy and moist, just enough of everything. Great with sausage gravy. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only thing I did differently was change the shortening to butter and they came out excellent! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States