Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I just made this recipe according to instructions. I can tell you, for real, these do not bake at 220 degrees Celsius. At the 15 minute mark at this temperature, they had started to flatten out and we're still very very soggy to touch. I had to up the temperature to 350 and cook for a further 10 minutes. Perhaps they didn't cook at 220 because I added half a cup of sugar? The flavor was okay, but still going to continue searching for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just great as-is. I use butter for more flavour, though, instead of shortening. I also like using buttermilk in these, as they get nice and fluffy. I've subbed about a teaspoon of baking soda for all of the baking powder (with a bit of vinegar in the milk to help with lift) and those turn out okay, but with a kind of baking soda aftertaste I don't wholly enjoy. Nobody else seems to notice or mind that taste, but I think I would recommend using baking powder in the recipe. Typically I don't have baking powder in the house (baking soda usually works fine and is cheaper) but this is one recipe I find isn't exactly the same with baking soda. So there's that. Anyway, great recipe as-is, but butter and buttermilk take these over the edge! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These are good and easy. I would cut back the salt just a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elyperieraxo
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great recipe! The biscuits taste amazing and they're very simple to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. They came out great and had a slight sweetness to them. Definitely the right biscuits for tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
this is the only recipe I use for the biscuits.....always a favorite and great on Thanksgiving too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe is quick easy and delicious! the biscuits are flaky.I doubled the recipe and used canned milk- 1 can is 1 1/2 c which is perfect for doubling. I also replaced 1 cup of flour with wheat flour. Made this with BobJones gravy recipe also from this site. They have disappeared! My children inhaled these. Also good with honey which was resorted to when gravy was gone. I will make this recipe again and again and again.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaskGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My first attempt at biscuits and I won't try another recipe. These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly then added some cheddar cheese and garlic powder. Can't wait to try again with a little sugar and some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
really good, almost as good as Rita's MacNeils tea biscuits love and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Fluffy, moist, and slightly golden brown. However they tasted so much of baking powder that we couldn't eat them. I thought maybe I screwed up, so I made them again. The second batch came out perfect looking and the taste was still just as bad as before. We had three people in the kitchen to double check the recipe so I know it wasn't me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States