Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Just made these this morning. I took the advice of previous reviewers and made a few changes of my own. Used 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Added 1 tablespoon of sugar. Also added 1/2 cup raisins. Finally, did an egg wash as recommended on another biscuit recipe on this site. Served with a little mango butter (from Trader Joe's) on top. They are amazing. My husband and sons loved them. I am so happy to be able to make something so delicious with minimal effort that is relatively healthy as well. Thanks to all the previous reviewers for their comments. They are truly helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were nice, light, and fluffy biscuits . Delicious with strawberry jam! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is my go to recipe for rainy days or a little indulgence. I love these biscuits warm with butter, dipped in gravy, they never let me down. However I find that if I make the full recipe they don't last very well, so I recommend only making as many you think will be eaten. They are fabulous with garlic and herbs mixed in, my favorite is cheese and dill. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My batch turned out hard and crumbly. I personally find them to be bitter and very salty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I liked how easy they were to make, but they were a little too... I don't know, bready or something (for my taste). They were still good, just not my style of biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla
Photo by MAEMAE3
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband made these today. He grew up with them and he said they taste exactly the same. He used butter (unsalted) instead of crisco. We had them with beef stew he made from this website yesterday. Wonderful together - biscuits and beef stew! I'm going to make some flavored butter (honey and butter) to go with his next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAEMAE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A no hassle can't fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These were some pretty good biscuits. They had a nice light texture. I am not sure where 20 servings came from? I got 10 biscuits at the 1/2 inch. thickness, with a standard biscuit cutter, and think it would be better to do about 3/4 inch. Instead of greasing a sheet I just used parchment paper. I liked that these did not seem heavy or greasy like some biscuit recipes. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! and equally loved how quick and easy it was. I did make some changes though, just to make it my own. Instead of shortening I used salted butter (that was all I had!) and I omitted the salt, since the butter had salt in it. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and about 3/4 cup of toffee bits. They turned out fabulously and my family has already eaten half of them (I took them out of the oven an hour ago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
As written they taste too much like shortening but the quantities are dead. As another reviewer suggested use half butter and you have a better tasting biscuit.....happy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States