Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
If your biscuits taste like baking powder, check the ingredients and get one that is aluminum free. I use Rumford and it works great. Also, I prefer using butter instead of shortening or even cold lard. (Never said this was a health conscious mixture, but they are oh so good!) I will also use 1 tbs. of sugar, 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and two tbs. of dried buttermilk mixed with the dry ingredients and instead of regular milk, I use cold buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good recipe, they were really light and very tasty. I had to add 3 more tablespoons of milk to the dough as it was a little dry, maybe because I'm baking at altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Too salty for me. To be fair I did use salted butter instead of shortening, but I doubt that I'll make these again. Really not what I was looking for in a biscuit. Super easy, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a very good, reliable recipe. Like some others, I use butter instead of shortening and reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. My favorite variation is to add about a 1/4 pound of crisp, crumbled bacon and a 1/4 pound of shredded Colby cheese after cutting in the butter, then mix in the milk. Bake as usual, split while hot, and pile in scrambled eggs. You're ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by airicu12
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yes, I added 4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp sugar, execellant!!! All the rest according to recipe, made 6 large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Perfect!!! We used butter instead of shortening and they rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Some really good biscuits!! Ate one hot with strawberry jam and it was delicious. Can't wait to have a couple more for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I just made this recipe according to instructions. I can tell you, for real, these do not bake at 220 degrees Celsius. At the 15 minute mark at this temperature, they had started to flatten out and we're still very very soggy to touch. I had to up the temperature to 350 and cook for a further 10 minutes. Perhaps they didn't cook at 220 because I added half a cup of sugar? The flavor was okay, but still going to continue searching for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just great as-is. I use butter for more flavour, though, instead of shortening. I also like using buttermilk in these, as they get nice and fluffy. I've subbed about a teaspoon of baking soda for all of the baking powder (with a bit of vinegar in the milk to help with lift) and those turn out okay, but with a kind of baking soda aftertaste I don't wholly enjoy. Nobody else seems to notice or mind that taste, but I think I would recommend using baking powder in the recipe. Typically I don't have baking powder in the house (baking soda usually works fine and is cheaper) but this is one recipe I find isn't exactly the same with baking soda. So there's that. Anyway, great recipe as-is, but butter and buttermilk take these over the edge! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States