Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SaskGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My first attempt at biscuits and I won't try another recipe. These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly then added some cheddar cheese and garlic powder. Can't wait to try again with a little sugar and some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
really good, almost as good as Rita's MacNeils tea biscuits love and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Fluffy, moist, and slightly golden brown. However they tasted so much of baking powder that we couldn't eat them. I thought maybe I screwed up, so I made them again. The second batch came out perfect looking and the taste was still just as bad as before. We had three people in the kitchen to double check the recipe so I know it wasn't me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a very good recipe, the biscuit were light and fuffy although there is a bit too much baking powder. So instead adding 4 teaspoons of baking powder I added 3 teaspoons of baking powder which was better. The biscuits came out just as good without that overpowering baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These turned out really well but quite salty. I ended up using butter rather than shortening. Not sure if the butter made it more flakey but it did make it taste very buttery. I rolled them out and let them rest for about half an hour before baking in hopes that they would rise more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Mm! Just a bit of butter & honey, made this the perfect tea time treat! This is a wonderful recipe!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I am all about simplicity and used to make them help of the box kind ;). This is the first time I made them from scratch and don't know how often I will because they are so yummy I want to eat them all!!! Great for leftover turkey and gravy - oh the memories they bring back...mmmmm chomp, chomp mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zrye
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These biscuits were awesome. I love how quick and easy the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
March 30th, 2013 - I tried this recipe for the first time today. Based on all the feedback I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp., added 1/3 c. sugar, and used butter in place of the shortening. The first batch came out of the oven lightly browned, tasty and light. The recipe yielded 12 biscuits with not quite the height of the picture displayed in recipe. Since I needed at least 15 I repeated the recipe. Interestingly enough, even using the very same process, the dough was stickier. I used a smaller round cutter in an effort to get height and yield a few more biscuits, but they came out flatter then the first batch and not as flaky. It is surprising that a recipe can have such different results in two batches. Overall, I'm going to try them again. Hopefully they'll turn out like the first batch because they were really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were AMAZING! But they didn't make the 20 so I doubled it and made it 40 and they turned out so good and so thick! I brought some to work with me and everyone who had them loved them! And they were so easy to make! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States