Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nookerbean
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I didn't fry these, but baked them at 400 for 17-18 minutes. I think I made them bigger than recipe stated, but they were very filling and the kids seemed to like them. Only negative comment was that it was a little "plain", even with cheese added to it. I LOVED them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
THank YOU!!! I have been trying for several years to duplicate the delicious piroshki recipe my late Grandmother, born and raised in Russia, used to make us as children. The night we made these my brother walked in and grabbed one. "THESE ARE THEM, THESE ARE THEM!!" It was a great acheivment after so many failed attempts that never even came close. I made so many batches night after night this holiday I think my family and friends finally had enough piroshi till next Christmas. My Mother reminded me that my Grandmother also used to make them with cabbage and hard boiled eggs. We did'nt do the eggs but we did have some with cabbage that were good. We also thought of using the dough but adding spaghetti sauce, peperoni and chese for an Italian version. (Sorry Grandma) Anyway if I never use another recipe again I will treasure this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
EUREKA! This recipe does taste like the piroshkis I remember eating in my childhood when I would be treated to piroshkis at my friend's russian grandmother's house. They were always fondly remembered but never duplicated until now. Mine turned out a little dry, perhaps I drained the meat too well? I'm looking at other web sites now for similar recipes, and one says a russian chef told her that dryness is a problem, the chef adds bits of suet in the meat or chopped up frozen beef stock. Another recipe adds beef stock and butter to the meat to make it wetter. Some recipes add chopped up hard boiled eggs. I notice reviewers here added cheese. I cut mine open and added some cheese and it tasted good. Roll your dough thin, thinner is better, it puffs up thicker when you fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
these are the best...they taste just like the ones i look forward to each year at the local fair. i fried some and baked the rest for about 15-17 mins at 400---like suggested. great recipe, will definitely make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Overall I give it a five this was delicious I add some mushrooms bacon bits with some cheese but it was great either way. Quickness I rated five because I alway prepare my indgredints before I make it by two hours so I just through it together eainess a five also because it goes in hand with Quckness. Kid friendly a five for obvious reasons Thankyou for giving us the recipe, I've never made these before, Im very impressed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is best using the time-honored tradition of using roasted beef and then grinding it in a hand-cranked meat grinder. Totally old-fashioned, yes, but it yields unmatched richness. (Ground meat lends a much harsher and hollow flavor) (Trust me, I've eaten these for 40+ years). Ironically, though, if you want to cut time on making the dough- frozen Bridgefield bread loaves, thawed and rolled out, yields virtually the same taste as far as the bread is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
They just didn't taste like I remember a piroshki tasting. I'll have another go at them and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I use 1/2 this recipe for my 3-person family. I use 1 1/2 Tbs of dried dill for an authentic fair-type taste. I also add a 1 1/2 oz cube of cheddar cheese before sealing and frying. My 2-year old and husband love these! They're a great make-ahead for a picnic (no messy sandwiches) and easy to reheat in the oven (425 for 10 minnutes or so)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm making 25 bag lunches for fishermen who will be out on a lake with no cooking facilities on Saturday. I decided to enclose the Easy Ham and Cheese sandwiches, using this Piroshki dough. Talk about excellent! The dough was pliable and soft enough to enclose the ham, cheese and sauce. It should be less messy for the guys than a regular sandwich. Thanks Taylor's mommy! I'll come back another day and make the filling that goes with this Piroshki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbieMiller77
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe was right on. It tasted just like the piroshkis we bought at the neighborhood deli when we were kids. We added fresh minced garlic, cheese, onions, mushrooms, and fresh spinach with the ground beef and they were amazing. They were also very fun to make. This recipe is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieMiller77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States