Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These were very good, just like you get at the fair. I added garlic to the meat mixture and a cube of cojack cheese. I made the dough in the bread machine and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I put an egg white wash on top and baked them at 380 degrees for about 35-40 minutes and they came out great, except that I think they need to be thinner. The thinner the dough, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is best using the time-honored tradition of using roasted beef and then grinding it in a hand-cranked meat grinder. Totally old-fashioned, yes, but it yields unmatched richness. (Ground meat lends a much harsher and hollow flavor) (Trust me, I've eaten these for 40+ years). Ironically, though, if you want to cut time on making the dough- frozen Bridgefield bread loaves, thawed and rolled out, yields virtually the same taste as far as the bread is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is similar to my mom's recipe. I changed it a little: I add onion soup mix and a little thyme, and a little red wine and let the meat mix cook down and evaporate. I also make my dough with with about a cup of wheat flour. My Fry Daddy is the perfect temperature. Very popular, and I always use canola oil for frying. This is so yummy. I love it with sour cream on the side. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!!! I love these...we use a lot of dill and even added a dash of cayenne! I did go the lazy route a few times and used frozen bread dough only because of time constrants but everything was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wow, this was so delicious! Hands down the best recipe I have found on this site. Very unique. After frying the pastry (and it fries quickly (on medium heat)!) the dough came out very nice and fluffy! I couldn't get the ends to stay together though, but no matter, it wasn't too much a problem. I did add some garlic to the meat mixture beforehand and some beef broth (some people had commented on it being too dry). But other than that I followed the recipe pretty much to a "T". My husband and I even made some dessert piroshki with some ingredients we had on hand! So fun! :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe! We won't be having it ALL the time because it is quite caloric and fattening (i might try baking it next time to help with this), but once in awhile it will be an awesome meal for dinnertime. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My biggest problem with this recipe was that I had to throw away my first batch of dough (it turned into an exploding runny mess with the four cups of flour) and when I remade the dough, I wound up having to use something like seven and a half cups of flour to make it pull away from the sides. Don't get me wrong - I know that humid weather can make some difference - but it hasn't really been that humid here and doubling the flour is a lot more of a difference than I've ever had to do before! And I consider myself a pretty experienced baker. The filling, as people suggested, erred on the side of bland. IMHO, you should season the meat as you cook it, and make sure you break it all up into small pieces! I didn't have quite enough dill, but it wouldn't have made that much of a difference, I think. Also added some fried cabbage and garlic and a boiled egg. I should have added even more cabbage for a little sweetness. Threw in some oil so the filling wouldn't be so dry, but next time I think I'd add some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My WHOLE family loves these not to mention the friends who've stole bites! Everyone who eats them is sure to eat until they simply cannot. 15+ stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsOnlyForever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
very yummy everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joanna, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious! My friend Rob made, reviewed and turned me on to these yummy treats that we all ended up loving! Being that he's the Piroshki King, he suggested that a nice variation is adding in a bit of shredded cheese. I made these appy size and they were gobbled up. Thank you Taylor's Mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States