Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
For some reason my daughter calls these muppets and asks for them all the time! She is so picky when she eats and I am able to sneak in beef and pork and she loves them!!! I am so thsnkful I found this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
i tried frying these guys, and the dough didn't get cooked all the way through. they're in the oven right now trying to be saved. if i try this recipe next time, i'll make them smaller than golf ball sized. i would also stretch the dough over a larger helping of the hamburger filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have noticed that many people have complained about the dryness of the meat. Im russian and I have made countless piroshkis in my lifetime and would have to say this recipe is almost spot (for the dough that is). I wouldn't cook the ground beef and actually I would use half ground pork half ground beef and add about 1/4 cup of water to the meat mixture, the more onions and garlic and other seasonings you add the tastier it will be so don't skimp on that and please please don't use dried ingredients that takes away the authenticity of this awesome dish. There is absolutely no reason to cook the meat before you fry or bake them. If frying I like to pan fry to start and then finish them in the oven for about 20 min at 375. If baking them bake for about 30-40 min and make sure to brush them with egg yolk mixed with a little bit of milk (that's so it has a nice golden top to it. Hope I helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peryngve
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Amazing recipe! The soft dough just melts in your mouth as soon as you bite into it followed by a very well-seasoned meat mixture. I alternated a little bit and mixed pork and beef together for the flavor of it. All my friends loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peryngve

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My grandmother had a friend who was Russian. As an occasional treat, she would make these for us... I hadn't thought of them in YEARS (over 20). These are EXACTLY what I remembered. Thank you SO much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The dough is wonderful, light and fluffy. I must admit I find Russian fare a little short on the seasoning, and was concerned that the filling would be too bland. For that reason, I added Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire Sauce, beef stock and chilli flakes. Even with these changes, I think this recipe is great and will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Worked great! Loved the breads turn out after all was said and done and I customized the filling to fit the liking of my family and they STILL came out great! Definitely saving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. I only made half and deep fried it. I did add some oregano and green chile sauce because the meat seemed too dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I will have to try it again and make some alterations to perfect this recipe. I have a severe gluten allergy, so I used King Arthur GF flour for the base, which may have accounted for some of the texture issues--(yeast doesn't work as well with gluten-less flour). Usually this brand of flour can be subbed for anything and you can't really tell a difference. I heavily seasoned the meat and added sour cream and shredded cheddar after reading other reviews that the meat was somewhat dry and bland. I think this filling tasted very good, but I think it would have been a much better texture if you put it through a fine meat grinder to get rid of the 'graininess' that ground beef has and make it more like a mincemeat or ravioli filling. My dough rose a little, but didn't get the extreme fluffiness that I think it should have had. I used rapid rise yeast and let it rise over an hour. It had the texture more like a dense biscuit wrapper than a fluffy bun like I remember piroshki having. I fried some and baked some; the fried definitely had a much better flavor. I found the bread to be overly dense, dry, and a tad bit bland--I will try this recipe again maybe with a different flour or yeast and see if I can get the fluffiness into the bread--I'm sure those of you making it with regular will get the right texture. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I loved these and so did my guests! I took the suggestion to add a little stock. I added veggie stock because it was what I had on hand. I just added it right in the meat while the onions were cooking- about half a box. I just let it cook into the meat so it was really juicy. I also used fresh dill, not dried. I also used Rhodes dinner rolls instead of making the dough because I was on a time crunch. They worked perfectly! The Piroshki were juicy, so flavorful and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States