Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
These are GREAT! Like several of the other reviewers, we baked them instead of frying, but they taste wonderful, and are very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is yummy! My Russian grandmother added hard-boiled egg, parsley, 1/4 cup dry wine, and about 1/2 cup water to hers, along with the ground beef, onions, dill, salt & pepper. Maybe the extra liquid keeps them a little moister. We always deep-fried them. They were to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I love trying new Ukrainian and Russian recipes and this is definitely one I will be making again. I split the recipe in half, baked them instead of frying - for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees, and added in a few more things to the filling - chopped hard-boiled egg, shredded cabbage, a little bit of minced garlic to the onions, and some chopped up cheese (I used mild monterey jack). I also brushed the tops with melted butter when they came out of the oven. ..and I served it with a spinach salad. Im excited to make this recipe again for my brother who loves Hot Pockets. He doesnt usually like Russian food but I know he'll love this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
We really enjoyed these, I baked them also. I added a generous amount of dill weed to the filling and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nookerbean
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I didn't fry these, but baked them at 400 for 17-18 minutes. I think I made them bigger than recipe stated, but they were very filling and the kids seemed to like them. Only negative comment was that it was a little "plain", even with cheese added to it. I LOVED them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I use 1/2 this recipe for my 3-person family. I use 1 1/2 Tbs of dried dill for an authentic fair-type taste. I also add a 1 1/2 oz cube of cheddar cheese before sealing and frying. My 2-year old and husband love these! They're a great make-ahead for a picnic (no messy sandwiches) and easy to reheat in the oven (425 for 10 minnutes or so)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
These were fantastic!!!! We love them just the way they are, but did add some different meats and cheese to some for the grandkids. They loved them to. Thanks for such an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Very good recipe- similar to the ones not available anymore in the market at Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. I found it helpful not to overlap the edges of the dough a lot when wrapping, so the dough cooks through without over-browning them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful! Many many years ago when I was a teenager, my best friend and I used to live on Piroshki we would buy at a local deli in N. Ca. I loved them and ate them several times a week. Now that I live in Ky, it is rare to find anyone who has ever even heard of Piroshki. This recipe is only perfect duplication of the proshki that I remember from my childhood. Not only are they wonderful, but for me, the ultimate comfort food! Thank You Taylor's Mommy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
We had a bunch of neighbors over and made these, it's a great recipe! Cheese would be the perfect addition, but don't overdo it. We halved the recipe and still had plenty to go around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States