Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is similar to my mom's recipe. I changed it a little: I add onion soup mix and a little thyme, and a little red wine and let the meat mix cook down and evaporate. I also make my dough with with about a cup of wheat flour. My Fry Daddy is the perfect temperature. Very popular, and I always use canola oil for frying. This is so yummy. I love it with sour cream on the side. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!!! I love these...we use a lot of dill and even added a dash of cayenne! I did go the lazy route a few times and used frozen bread dough only because of time constrants but everything was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wow, this was so delicious! Hands down the best recipe I have found on this site. Very unique. After frying the pastry (and it fries quickly (on medium heat)!) the dough came out very nice and fluffy! I couldn't get the ends to stay together though, but no matter, it wasn't too much a problem. I did add some garlic to the meat mixture beforehand and some beef broth (some people had commented on it being too dry). But other than that I followed the recipe pretty much to a "T". My husband and I even made some dessert piroshki with some ingredients we had on hand! So fun! :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe! We won't be having it ALL the time because it is quite caloric and fattening (i might try baking it next time to help with this), but once in awhile it will be an awesome meal for dinnertime. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My biggest problem with this recipe was that I had to throw away my first batch of dough (it turned into an exploding runny mess with the four cups of flour) and when I remade the dough, I wound up having to use something like seven and a half cups of flour to make it pull away from the sides. Don't get me wrong - I know that humid weather can make some difference - but it hasn't really been that humid here and doubling the flour is a lot more of a difference than I've ever had to do before! And I consider myself a pretty experienced baker. The filling, as people suggested, erred on the side of bland. IMHO, you should season the meat as you cook it, and make sure you break it all up into small pieces! I didn't have quite enough dill, but it wouldn't have made that much of a difference, I think. Also added some fried cabbage and garlic and a boiled egg. I should have added even more cabbage for a little sweetness. Threw in some oil so the filling wouldn't be so dry, but next time I think I'd add some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My WHOLE family loves these not to mention the friends who've stole bites! Everyone who eats them is sure to eat until they simply cannot. 15+ stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsOnlyForever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
very yummy everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joanna, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious! My friend Rob made, reviewed and turned me on to these yummy treats that we all ended up loving! Being that he's the Piroshki King, he suggested that a nice variation is adding in a bit of shredded cheese. I made these appy size and they were gobbled up. Thank you Taylor's Mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were great!! added lots of dill and some garlic into the hamurger. I fryed them and at 30 seconds per side they turned out perfect. They quickly disappear wherever I bring them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very tasty recipe! I had a little difficulty following the directions but I think it is probably because I am such a poor baker. I do think the recipe time should be revised to fact in the time one must wait for the dough to rise. Other than that, great comfort food! It cam out warm and soft. I was pleasantly impressed and my partner was amazed at how professional the rolls looked! A very tasty meal. I do recommend making the dough balls smaller (smaller than a golf ball) as someone else recommended because the can get pretty large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were Awesome! I added cooked shredded potatoes, matchstick carrots, garlic powder & beef broth. I also baked these instead of frying. Everyone loved them! The dough was amazing, I plan to use the dough for other fillings too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States