Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The First time I prepared these, the filling was far too dry and bland. I also baked them instead of frying them. The next time I made them, I used the dough and prepared my Mother's Shepard's Pie filling with steamed, small cubed potatoes and then added a few handfuls of shredded cheddar. The blend of the seasonings along with the dough was really flavorful. The next day even more so. The second time I prepared them , however, I chose to deep fry them and it really made a huge difference in flavor with this dough. I recommend trying them fried at least once! Overall, I loved the recipe. Thank you TaylorsMommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very similar to the one at Seattle Pike Place Piroshky Bakery I must say. Added two medium size onions, 2 T minced garlic, Mrs Dash about 1- 2 tsp, little dash paprika, 2 1/2 tsp dill and mixed 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese mixed them all in the meat. Meat one half cooked ground pork and half uncooked ground beef add 1/4 cup water or broth. I made open face round gallette type dough. Weight each dough 62 grams round ball and roll them thin. This is my version of filling I did not alter the dough recipe at all Baked 350 degrees on my kitchenaid convection oven for 25 mins. Turn baking sheets every 10 mins. If it browns too quickly cover with foil and remove foil in the 1- 2 mins. It was delish :) It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALYSANN
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yummy! I added cheese and frozen veggies to the filling and passed them off as cheeseburger donuts to the kids. They gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faye
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
all the family loved it! thank you so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
For some reason my daughter calls these muppets and asks for them all the time! She is so picky when she eats and I am able to sneak in beef and pork and she loves them!!! I am so thsnkful I found this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
i tried frying these guys, and the dough didn't get cooked all the way through. they're in the oven right now trying to be saved. if i try this recipe next time, i'll make them smaller than golf ball sized. i would also stretch the dough over a larger helping of the hamburger filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have noticed that many people have complained about the dryness of the meat. Im russian and I have made countless piroshkis in my lifetime and would have to say this recipe is almost spot (for the dough that is). I wouldn't cook the ground beef and actually I would use half ground pork half ground beef and add about 1/4 cup of water to the meat mixture, the more onions and garlic and other seasonings you add the tastier it will be so don't skimp on that and please please don't use dried ingredients that takes away the authenticity of this awesome dish. There is absolutely no reason to cook the meat before you fry or bake them. If frying I like to pan fry to start and then finish them in the oven for about 20 min at 375. If baking them bake for about 30-40 min and make sure to brush them with egg yolk mixed with a little bit of milk (that's so it has a nice golden top to it. Hope I helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peryngve
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Amazing recipe! The soft dough just melts in your mouth as soon as you bite into it followed by a very well-seasoned meat mixture. I alternated a little bit and mixed pork and beef together for the flavor of it. All my friends loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peryngve

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My grandmother had a friend who was Russian. As an occasional treat, she would make these for us... I hadn't thought of them in YEARS (over 20). These are EXACTLY what I remembered. Thank you SO much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
The dough is wonderful, light and fluffy. I must admit I find Russian fare a little short on the seasoning, and was concerned that the filling would be too bland. For that reason, I added Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire Sauce, beef stock and chilli flakes. Even with these changes, I think this recipe is great and will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States