Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I only gave this a four because of a personal preference. Dill is definitely the "taste" needed for true pirozhki. I learned this over 40 years ago from a Russian emigre woman and I miss them so much! Also, you may want to try to add 2-4 boied eggs to the stuffing. You may use a Moulle grinder so that you can shred the eggs into a "fine" grade such that the eggs aren't as visible to those who eat pirozhki made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anyse Joslin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These turned out very tasty but don't be shy with the dill! I didn't put enough in the meat so to make up for it I made a sauce with sour cream, dill, garlic and lemon juice, which complemented them wonderfully! I also made too many for just one person to eat so I froze them. I took them out a few days later and baked them for 20-30 minutes (from frozen) and they were even better! I think next time I will try as others suggested and use the dough as a based for other ideas like italian, mexican, or greek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were great. I found them while I was browsing. I omitted the dill weed, and added some potatoes and cheese. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was great! I remember making these when I went to Russia but I couldn't remember the recipe. But I recently needed to make a Russian dish for a big, multicultural pot luck. I remember liking these a lot, so I thought I'd try it out. They all disappeared in the first few minutes! My family was sad that I didn't leave very many for them and asked me to make more! I did change a couple things though: I took others' advice about the moisture and added 1/2 cup of beef stock to the meat mixture right before wrapping it in the dough. It turned out great that way! Not too wet. The stock just rehydrated the well-cooked meat. I also added a clove of minced garlic. I know that's not authentic, but it gave it all a really good flavor, and actually brought out the dillweed in my opinion. Also, I needed to add about another cup of flour to the dough to make it not stick to the bowl. Finally, make sure you don't have your heat for the oil on too high. I made that mistake and the first couple came out doughy in the middle. Then just serve with sour cream (the Russian condiment, it seems)! Right now I have some more dough rising! Only this time I'm putting mashed potatoes in. You could try it with cabbage too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Wow!!!! These are GREAT! My husband can't stop eating them and he is telling everyone about them. I am gad the recipe yielded alot of them because I know everyone will be here tomarrow to try them (if there are any left lol). I did have some dough left so I shaped it into do-nuts and fried them in hot oil and coated with sugar.Did I say wow yet? Taylor's Mom you are great and thank you for sharing.............................. Okay it the saturday of Memorial Day weekend and we were just going to have a quiet weekend til some friends and family said they are coming for breakfast tomarrow. Well I had some beef links in the freezer and I made this dough and made kalachis. Fantastic! I stuffed the leftover dough with cheese, meatballs & jalapeno. Great snack. I love you Taylor's Mommy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Zadeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought that these were okay. Our kids loved them. We thought that we might try it again, but make it a breakfast item with sausage and egg filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was great!! I miss the House Of Piroshki in San Francisco now i have it at my house. This is the best recipe i have found for the doe. I went a step further and made a pastry with the left over doe by adding Rasberry jelly as the filling deep fry and sprinkle powder sugar on top. What a treat to enjoy after a great Piroshki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are delicious! My hubby and kids love them. They are not hard to make at all just take a little time with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbieMiller77
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe was right on. It tasted just like the piroshkis we bought at the neighborhood deli when we were kids. We added fresh minced garlic, cheese, onions, mushrooms, and fresh spinach with the ground beef and they were amazing. They were also very fun to make. This recipe is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieMiller77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
It took tree attempts for me to get the yeast activated - but I would do it all over again. I read that some people added cheese - since I had a few laughing cow cubes left (onion flavored) I added them - THIS WAS A GREAT RECIPE!!! My husband and son both enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States