Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was fine. It was nice to have something authentic for our Russian history unit, but it didn't have very much flavor. Although everyone loved rolls! They were very light, flaky and tender. I may make them again if I need rolls. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Love this recipe and make it all the time. Everyone who has never been introduced to Piroshki's before like them instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
We liked it. I baked them, using 1/2 beef and 1/2 venison and I also added garlic and a small amount of bacon to the meat, as well as cheese. My husband and son liked them, though they thought the meat could use more spices. I'll keep experimenting with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pnutmommy
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These tasted really good. they were very similar to what I have been looking for since a Polish guy I worked with brought in these little stuffed rolls his mother made. The recipe makes a good amount, and that is a good thing because every one loved them. I served them with a dilled sour cream sauce for dipping, but they were just as good without it. Needed a little more flavor though. They ones I had before had a little tomato flavor, maybe I'll add a little tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim in Ohio
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I'm a beginner cook and even I managed not to screw it up! :) These taste very similar to the piroshki I remember eating in Moscow. My son needs to make a Russian dish for a school project, and he really liked these. I changed the recipe for the filling just a bit -- I used 1 lb. of ground beef, 1/2 lb. of mushrooms, and the onion. I also put the ground beef through the food processor after I cooked it, to make it very fine. (The ones we had in Moscow had a very finely chopped filling.) Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
A nice accompaniment to the Russian Potato and Mushroom soup from this site. A great marriage of savoury flavours in a tender bread pocket. I baked mine. I'm sure they're even better deep-fried. The dough was very nice! Very tender. I made half the batch with a sauerkraut/Hungarian paprika sausage mixture for variety. This dough is the perfect wrapper for whatever savoury filling one might like to put in it, authentic or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good, very good dough, but filling was a tad bland. This was my first piroshki, so maybe it is meant to be? still I would make this again. Bit like a blandy beef cornish pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I had a little trouble with my dough but I think it was because the yeast was old. I had to throw out the first batch and start over. The Piroshki I finished turned out great! I was trying to immitate my husband's grandma's recipe and came close. I will be taking these to his parents and brother and sister to try. I know they are not exactly like Grandma's but they will like them. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Photo by Rocky
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Delicious! I made them smaller for after school snacks and used Feta cheese and garlic...Yummie! I also baked them at 400 F and baked them in my oven with speed bake it took only 13 to 14 minutes. Very good recipe and I will use forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Great. I added 2 cloves of garlic with the onions. Also, instead of rolling out each circle, I rolled out a rectangle and used a large glass to cut out 12-15 circles at once. This was a big hit with everyone. We'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States