Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My biggest problem with this recipe was that I had to throw away my first batch of dough (it turned into an exploding runny mess with the four cups of flour) and when I remade the dough, I wound up having to use something like seven and a half cups of flour to make it pull away from the sides. Don't get me wrong - I know that humid weather can make some difference - but it hasn't really been that humid here and doubling the flour is a lot more of a difference than I've ever had to do before! And I consider myself a pretty experienced baker. The filling, as people suggested, erred on the side of bland. IMHO, you should season the meat as you cook it, and make sure you break it all up into small pieces! I didn't have quite enough dill, but it wouldn't have made that much of a difference, I think. Also added some fried cabbage and garlic and a boiled egg. I should have added even more cabbage for a little sweetness. Threw in some oil so the filling wouldn't be so dry, but next time I think I'd add some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My WHOLE family loves these not to mention the friends who've stole bites! Everyone who eats them is sure to eat until they simply cannot. 15+ stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsOnlyForever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
very yummy everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joanna, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious! My friend Rob made, reviewed and turned me on to these yummy treats that we all ended up loving! Being that he's the Piroshki King, he suggested that a nice variation is adding in a bit of shredded cheese. I made these appy size and they were gobbled up. Thank you Taylor's Mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were great!! added lots of dill and some garlic into the hamurger. I fryed them and at 30 seconds per side they turned out perfect. They quickly disappear wherever I bring them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very tasty recipe! I had a little difficulty following the directions but I think it is probably because I am such a poor baker. I do think the recipe time should be revised to fact in the time one must wait for the dough to rise. Other than that, great comfort food! It cam out warm and soft. I was pleasantly impressed and my partner was amazed at how professional the rolls looked! A very tasty meal. I do recommend making the dough balls smaller (smaller than a golf ball) as someone else recommended because the can get pretty large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were Awesome! I added cooked shredded potatoes, matchstick carrots, garlic powder & beef broth. I also baked these instead of frying. Everyone loved them! The dough was amazing, I plan to use the dough for other fillings too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These are so good. First try making them was a success, and trying again tonight with a little cheese and shredded potato! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocaire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
MMMMMMM...THESE WERE JUST LIKE I REMEMBEREDE. I ADDED CHOPPED HARD BOILED EGGS TO THEM. REALLY TASTE GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These were good....I know it probably wouldn't be an authentic recipe, but I would add something to make the bread a little more tasty next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States