Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
thanks, i have been looking for this recipe. its awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Added some minced garlic and baked them instead of frying, but WOW! These were well received by everyone at the dinner party. Already have requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of these. I thought that they were going to be bland, but a little bit of ingredients makes for a real treat in this recipe. The best fresh, but great warmed up too. I even froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
They just didn't taste like I remember a piroshki tasting. I'll have another go at them and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These were very good, just like you get at the fair. I added garlic to the meat mixture and a cube of cojack cheese. I made the dough in the bread machine and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I put an egg white wash on top and baked them at 380 degrees for about 35-40 minutes and they came out great, except that I think they need to be thinner. The thinner the dough, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is best using the time-honored tradition of using roasted beef and then grinding it in a hand-cranked meat grinder. Totally old-fashioned, yes, but it yields unmatched richness. (Ground meat lends a much harsher and hollow flavor) (Trust me, I've eaten these for 40+ years). Ironically, though, if you want to cut time on making the dough- frozen Bridgefield bread loaves, thawed and rolled out, yields virtually the same taste as far as the bread is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is similar to my mom's recipe. I changed it a little: I add onion soup mix and a little thyme, and a little red wine and let the meat mix cook down and evaporate. I also make my dough with with about a cup of wheat flour. My Fry Daddy is the perfect temperature. Very popular, and I always use canola oil for frying. This is so yummy. I love it with sour cream on the side. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!!! I love these...we use a lot of dill and even added a dash of cayenne! I did go the lazy route a few times and used frozen bread dough only because of time constrants but everything was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wow, this was so delicious! Hands down the best recipe I have found on this site. Very unique. After frying the pastry (and it fries quickly (on medium heat)!) the dough came out very nice and fluffy! I couldn't get the ends to stay together though, but no matter, it wasn't too much a problem. I did add some garlic to the meat mixture beforehand and some beef broth (some people had commented on it being too dry). But other than that I followed the recipe pretty much to a "T". My husband and I even made some dessert piroshki with some ingredients we had on hand! So fun! :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe! We won't be having it ALL the time because it is quite caloric and fattening (i might try baking it next time to help with this), but once in awhile it will be an awesome meal for dinnertime. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States