Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I add a lot of dill. No cheese. Baked at 400 for 15 minutes turned out amazing. Made a very thick "gravy" dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
VERY good! Similar to the piroshki's I had growing up. I did use more dill, about 1-11/2 tsp. Also used 1/2 c beef stock to moisten the meat up when it was ready to fill the dough. I also added sharp cheddar cheese. As for using 2 disks of dough, I ended up using one disk and folding it in half and pinching it closed. I wanted a little less dough, and more meat. It was very good! THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I also bake these at 400 for about 15-20 minutes instead of frying. I make it with ground beef, onion, cheese and sauerkraut for more of a bier rock taste. I've also done it with chopped spinach. I may try doing it with apple filling sometime. This is GREAT! Give it a try, it's really not hard to do and the leftovers are great too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was very time consuming with some disappointing results. I think partly due to the recipe and partly due to user error. The dough is good but the filling really lacked flavor and moisture. I also baked these instead of frying so maybe that made a difference. We're gonna try to make again with different filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My bf from St. Petersburg loved this but said the dough was a bit too sweet. To keep it wet, I added hard boiled eggs and a little veg oil to the meat mix. I used half ground pork and half ground beef as most Russian minced meat recipes call for. Next time I will put only a little sugar. Also, he said he loves them with blueberries so that's the next I will try. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Don liked the dough but didn't care for the meat. Will make again, with a different meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
thanks, i have been looking for this recipe. its awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Added some minced garlic and baked them instead of frying, but WOW! These were well received by everyone at the dinner party. Already have requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of these. I thought that they were going to be bland, but a little bit of ingredients makes for a real treat in this recipe. The best fresh, but great warmed up too. I even froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
They just didn't taste like I remember a piroshki tasting. I'll have another go at them and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States