Taylor's Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is a Great recipe! Years ago I would buy peroshkis at a Russian deli in SF. Now live in SoCal and could not find the same anywhere. I've never been good with 'yeast' dough, but I thought I'd give this a try. I was so delighted with the result! Just like I remember! Huge hit with my family too, who never heard of a peroshki before and thought I had lost my mind. Today I make a double batch! woohooo! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I have been making these for over 20 years. The only difference in my recipe is I use 2 eggs and 1 1/2 cups milk. Hint: Cook onions first in a little butter with some finely shredded cabbage. Set aside, then cook and drain ground beef. Because ground beef doesn't taste like it use to I use grass-fed ground beef. Also I find that the King Arthur flour works the best for me. After cooking the beef I add shredded cheddar cheese. Then I refrigerate the meat mixture overnight and use a ice cream scoop to fill. If you oil isn't hot enough they will be very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Since moving back to the US I've been looking for a piroshki dough recipe, and this is it! I wouldn't change a thing about the dough. The filling is nice as well, however as others have mentioned, there are TONS of different fillings you can use. My family is partial to potatoes with fried bulk sausage or ground beef (it's a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!). I also like them with cabbage. My mother-in-law makes them with apples and then bakes them, if you like it a little sweeter. This is a great recipe to let your imagination go wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
My husband's family makes something similar to this recipe. They add fried cabbage and call them Kraut Burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was the best! I usually would have to drive a long distance to get some and now that I can make them they have been the best. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The First time I prepared these, the filling was far too dry and bland. I also baked them instead of frying them. The next time I made them, I used the dough and prepared my Mother's Shepard's Pie filling with steamed, small cubed potatoes and then added a few handfuls of shredded cheddar. The blend of the seasonings along with the dough was really flavorful. The next day even more so. The second time I prepared them , however, I chose to deep fry them and it really made a huge difference in flavor with this dough. I recommend trying them fried at least once! Overall, I loved the recipe. Thank you TaylorsMommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very similar to the one at Seattle Pike Place Piroshky Bakery I must say. Added two medium size onions, 2 T minced garlic, Mrs Dash about 1- 2 tsp, little dash paprika, 2 1/2 tsp dill and mixed 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese mixed them all in the meat. Meat one half cooked ground pork and half uncooked ground beef add 1/4 cup water or broth. I made open face round gallette type dough. Weight each dough 62 grams round ball and roll them thin. This is my version of filling I did not alter the dough recipe at all Baked 350 degrees on my kitchenaid convection oven for 25 mins. Turn baking sheets every 10 mins. If it browns too quickly cover with foil and remove foil in the 1- 2 mins. It was delish :) It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALYSANN
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yummy! I added cheese and frozen veggies to the filling and passed them off as cheeseburger donuts to the kids. They gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faye
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
all the family loved it! thank you so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
For some reason my daughter calls these muppets and asks for them all the time! She is so picky when she eats and I am able to sneak in beef and pork and she loves them!!! I am so thsnkful I found this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States