Tater Tot Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
After reading the recipe and many reviews, I decided to try this casserole and I'm very glad I did! I didn't necessarily stick to the measurements exactly, but threw things all together and the end result was very tasty! I couldn't find canned enchilada sauce at my grocery store so used a jar of green salsa to which I added 1/2 tsp of cumin. Next time I'll try the 10 minute enchilada sauce off this site as recommended by another reviewer. I would definitely make this again - thanks for posting the recipe and thanks to all who left reviews. Happy cooking, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Love this recipe! I do use diced chicken in place of ground beef since I don't really care for it and I double everything except the corn(I use plain frozen corn)and the black beans. Top with some sour cream and you have a tasty meal. My kids devour it even my 2 year old. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Really good. I used half grnd beef/half grnd turkey, reduced-sodium taco mix, regular corn & cheddar/jack cheeses. I used Ore-Ida's Crispy Crowns for the taters. Recipe came out GREAT. Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Thank you for a useful recipe. There are times I need a casserole type dish, church, school and this works very well. I made it this afternoon with the addition of green/red/jalapeno peppers and roma tomatoes all diced. Very Good! Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searsboro, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This gets 5 stars for ease of preparation, versatility and flavor. I did double the amount of tater tots, which I would definitely do again. Also, I think I'd add some jalapenos, but that's a personal preference. Sour cream is another topping option. This reheated nicely and was very tasty, especially as leftovers. Overall, it was a nice change of pace that will now go in my rotation! I'd also be interested to know if anyone has tried freezing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We all enjoyed this very much - and it was simple enough for my 12 year told to fix all on his own! Double bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made This today For My Hubby to eat all week While working out of town !! Looks Like A keeper He Loved This! Added A Can Of Tomatoes & Green chilies.. Used Caned Mex. Corn Cause Don't sell Frozen No More Here. Exellent Recipe Will Make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindag2006

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this last night and it was really good. I did not add the corn (own preference). I did add green chilis and whew it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Really good! I left out the corn and beans per family request. I would have liked it with them. I used the red enchilada sauce that came in a 10oz can. I also used frozen onions since I had those on hand, and threw in a little bit of frozen green pepper. I used the whole bag of tater tots (28oz) and added a layer of them on top for some crunch. I pre baked them as a previous reviewer suggested. Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This can be adaptable for the slow cooker during the hot weather, when you don't want to heat up the kitchen. Follow steps 1 and 2 exactly. Step 3--grease the cooker and add 1/3 of enchilada sauce to bottom. Step 4--line the cooker (all the way up the sides if possible) with the tater tots. Step 5--spoon the meat/bean/corn mixture in the middle of the tater tot "nest." Step 6--drizzle the remaining enchilada sauce over the meat mixture and any exposed tater tots. Step 7--cook on low for 5-7 hours (or high 3-4 hours). Sprinkle cheese during last hour of cooking. Slow cookers vary in heating, so cook until the tater tots are hot and steamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States