Tater Tot Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
OMG sure to be a new family favorite!!!!!!!!!!!! YUUUMMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Pretty gosh darned tasty! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Had this for supper tonight. Exciting taste and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This recipe is definitely a hit. I know some people might turn their noses up at tater tot casserole but seriously it should be tried at least once. I made this a few months ago, added some green chiles as others did and wow was it good. I think I will make it again this week with ground chicken or turkey to change it up a little bit. Being from Texas I love the Mexican flavors that were added to it, makes it so much better. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was super yummy!! For those that rated this "blah", you must have missed something. Instead of beef, I used ground turkey with a little olive oil. After it was sauteed, I added the corn (just basic frozen corn kernels), a can of diced green chilies and the beans (seasoned, drained the liquid but did not rinse) along with the rest of the ingredients including GREEN enchilada sauce. Husband and I are on a pretty strict diet and try to do one "small cheat day" a week. This was the perfect "cheat"! Tasty, colorful and definitely a keeper. I believe making it with turkey is probably better for you with little to no grease/fat. Common sense is to drain the fat anyway. Give this a try and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this recipe last night, but altered it to vegetarian. It was absolutely delicious. For this version I omitted the ground beef and instead combined the taco seasoning, onion, garlic, corn, black beans, added diced red pepper, and 1 can of green chilies in a non stick skillet for 6-8 minutes on medium/high. Then combine the tater tots and cheese (I used Monterey Jack) along with the corn mixture in a large bowl. Layer the 1/3 enchilada sauce, then tater tot mixture, then remaining enchilada sauce in prepared dish. Bake, top with a little extra cheese, bake for 5 more minutes. Absolutely wonderful! Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I must admit, I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe, but my husband wanted to try it - very glad I did. Loved it! When I try a recipe for the first time I follow it to a "T", then from that point on I adjust to my liking. Only thing I will add is alittle more cheese and a bit more enchilada sauce. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was just OK for us. As is, neither my hubs or I were all that impressed. With a few tweaks we'd be much more receptive to having this again. The concept is creative and the potential for improvement is there, but the execution is completely wrong, IMHO. Combining the tater tots with everything else was where this went downhill. The tots were mushy and barely noticeable. I suggest layering the tots on TOP of the meat / corn / bean mixture. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over all, cover with cheese and bake as directed. I also do not think it's necessary to use frozen corn (I used canned Fiesta corn but PictSweet brand sells a frozen Southwest blend that would also work and eliminate the need for a separate can of beans). Since beans are only sold in 15 oz. cans at my local grocery store, I added a *tad* more than called for. My final change (per the advice of others) was to add a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies because my hubs and I LOVE spicy food. The usual taco garnishes (i.e. shredded lettuce, tomato, green onion and sour cream) added a little pizzazz to our plates. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Mama Smith. I am looking forward to trying this again - with MY changes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this recipe last week and it was delicious!! VERY easy to make as well. Left out corn and beans, don't care for them in it but added a can of Rotel. Used more enchilada sauce and less cheese just to try to make a little less fattening. Husband wanted seconds and thirds! Will definitely be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband and I didn't care much for it. We both didn't like the tater tots in it. It was good before adding the tater tots and sauce. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet seafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States