Tater Tot Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
followed recipe and turned out bland and potatoes were mushy. but thanks for sharing was something different to try. don't think i'll make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made this tonight and the whole family loved it! The only thing I added was an extra garlic clove and some green onions for color. Going to share this with my friends. YUMMM!! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
A GREAT RECIPE!!! I made a few tweeks: I added a jar of chunky salsa to the cooked ground beef. And I added another jar of salsa to the bottom of the pan. (I omitted the enchilada sauce entirely). I also cooked the tater tots on a baking sheet ahead of time because I like them to be a bit crispier. Once they were cooked I placed them on top of the ground beef, topped with cheese and baked. I served with a side of sour cream (seasoned with a few dashes of adobo seasoning) and chopped avocado seasoned with a few dashes of lime juice). I'm going to try crushing corn chips instead of tater tots next time. YUMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
OMG sure to be a new family favorite!!!!!!!!!!!! YUUUMMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Pretty gosh darned tasty! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Had this for supper tonight. Exciting taste and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This recipe is definitely a hit. I know some people might turn their noses up at tater tot casserole but seriously it should be tried at least once. I made this a few months ago, added some green chiles as others did and wow was it good. I think I will make it again this week with ground chicken or turkey to change it up a little bit. Being from Texas I love the Mexican flavors that were added to it, makes it so much better. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was super yummy!! For those that rated this "blah", you must have missed something. Instead of beef, I used ground turkey with a little olive oil. After it was sauteed, I added the corn (just basic frozen corn kernels), a can of diced green chilies and the beans (seasoned, drained the liquid but did not rinse) along with the rest of the ingredients including GREEN enchilada sauce. Husband and I are on a pretty strict diet and try to do one "small cheat day" a week. This was the perfect "cheat"! Tasty, colorful and definitely a keeper. I believe making it with turkey is probably better for you with little to no grease/fat. Common sense is to drain the fat anyway. Give this a try and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this recipe last night, but altered it to vegetarian. It was absolutely delicious. For this version I omitted the ground beef and instead combined the taco seasoning, onion, garlic, corn, black beans, added diced red pepper, and 1 can of green chilies in a non stick skillet for 6-8 minutes on medium/high. Then combine the tater tots and cheese (I used Monterey Jack) along with the corn mixture in a large bowl. Layer the 1/3 enchilada sauce, then tater tot mixture, then remaining enchilada sauce in prepared dish. Bake, top with a little extra cheese, bake for 5 more minutes. Absolutely wonderful! Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I must admit, I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe, but my husband wanted to try it - very glad I did. Loved it! When I try a recipe for the first time I follow it to a "T", then from that point on I adjust to my liking. Only thing I will add is alittle more cheese and a bit more enchilada sauce. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States