Tater Tot Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is easy and hits the spot. I couldn't follow the recipe to a "T" I had to use ingredients I had on hand. Nevertheless, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made all kinds of changes, using what I had on hand and this casserole was still delicious! First of all, I doubled the meat and cheese, used 1 can of regular corn and 1 can of pinto beans (drained), plus a can of Rotel and an undiluted can of cream of chicken soup. Didn't have Mexican cheese, so used cheddar. Also added about a cup of sliced black olives, which I put on top before the first baking and before the final 1/3 of the cheese. I didn't have any enchilada sauce, but it wasn't missed and there was still plenty of liquid. Everyone loved it, and I fixed a pan of cornbread to go alongside. You can't mess this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Made this last night. I didn't have all of the ingredients listed, so I substituted peas for the corn and a mix of salsa and taco sauce for the enchilada sauce. I know some ppl don't like reviews when you change the ingredients but I think it speaks to the flexibility and quality of the original recipe. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and some Frank's Red Hot and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I made this pretty much exactly as the recipe called for, altho I did add a small can of diced green chilies. I also added a few tater tots on the top just for presentation's sake. (My family loves the super crispy ones on the top.) This recipe is good as written. Next time I might add some chopped jalapenos and maybe use green onion. This one is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My kids liked the tater tots. I didn't use enchilada sauce, but instead replaced it with 8 oz of tomato sauce. I also baked the tots first until nice and crispy. I added a can of diced chilies. I put the beef and veggie mixture at the bottom of the casserole dish. I covered that with the cooked tots and sprinkled the Mexican cheese on top. I then placed the dish in a preheated oven (375 degrees) until cheese was nice and melted. It's a nice quick meal for busy days, but not amazing or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Very good! My whole family loved it, especially my husband! He likes spicy food, so he added hot sauce to it, but I enjoyed it without. Very easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Its so simple and yet sooooo good. The only changes I would make just for me not because it would be any less tasty. I would added green peppers. I also would not mix the tater tots in but just add a layer on top then add cheese. Even tho my dad liked the mixture. I would have love to taste whole tater tots instead of the mushed up tater tots which is what ended up happening. I also cooked all ingredients ahead of time and just heated up cheese in the casserole. No need for 50 min bake I feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foster Leach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Yum! Perfect use for random frozen leftover French fries and taters tots. I used a combo of both and a mixture of leftover cheese. I topped mine with shredded lettuce, sour cream, and green onions. Black olives would be a nice garnish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I was a skeptic but now I believe. This is quick, easy and delicious and my whole family loved it! The only thing I changed was I used salsa instead of enchilada sauce because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It was delish. I only had frozen hash browns potatoes so I used those and substituted frozen veggie mix for the corn and beans. Also I used ground turkey instead of the beef. So basically I completely changed the recipe! Seriously, it was good and other than the cheese and using a canned sauce, it was fairly healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States