Tater Tot Hot Dish I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is a good base recipe but doesn't make much food. I browned 1.5lbs ground beef, then sauteed the onions. Combined those with the soup, milk, about a quarter cup each of frozen peas and corn, generous salt, pepper, and garlic powder. No oats. I had to put this in a smaller casserole dish because it doesn't make much, even with the extra half pound of beef. Covered with half a package of tater tots, and baked at 375 for about 40 minutes. It's very tasty. I think you need to at least double the recommended amounts for a full casserole serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I have made this a few times and they all love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
add in frozen carrots/peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This received raves here. Very hubby and kid friendly too. I used a couple of tablespoons of dried onion and a sprinkle of garlic powder on the meat along with a bit of low sodium Season Salt. I had to tweak and added a splash of worstershire sauce to the milk/soup mix. The last 3 minutes I added a slice of american cheese to the top. Hubby requested some chili in this next time like chili cheese tots. I can't believe how easy this was and no dirty pots and pans only 1 little casserole dish. I prepped the dish with some non stick spray. Awesome oldie but goodie. Thanks Terrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It's alright.I think it would be more tasty with some cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good! I did add corn and peas as well as worcestershire sauce while browning the hamburger (I browned it ahead of time). A typical Midwest casserole that is yummy and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
great recipe!! I did add Cheddar Cheese and omited the oats. Family asked for second. I passed the recipe on to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I browned the beef and onions with tons of seasonings including garlic and even some dashes of taco seasonings. I also added some frozen french freen beens and chedder cheese to the layers. Also, I took other's suggestion and baked the tots before hand so they weren't soggy. Turned out ok, very filling meal. But, nothing spectacular. The best part were the tots! I think next time, I'll try a different cheese/veggie combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is just a little friendly FYI for those new to making Casseroles a.k.a. Hot Dishes: you always cook the the meat (whatever kind that may be, except tuna) before putting it into the casserole dish. It will not tell you to do this in many hot dish recipes, because it is, for the most part, understood. You should use raw meat in a casserole/hot dish only when the recipe tells you specifically not to cook it before hand. I hope this helps. Great recipe. It is an old common dish that most people will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjnauert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula West
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was very easy and good i did add some cheese..This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States