Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a good, simple weekday recipe. 4 stars because if I hadn't added water to the meat mix it would have been dry. I also added some French's french fried onions on top for the last few mins of baking and they added lots of great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great base recipe and easy to change to personal preferences. I left out ketchup, added dry onion soup mix to hamburger and added green beans. Also used the entire bag of tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this almost as the recipe called for. I only added some peas and corn and cheddar cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very easy and very good! Add some cottage cheese and shredded cheddar on top, I subbed Worthington vegetarian burger for the hamburger, and used roasted garlic cream of mushroom. It tasted great for something so simple and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Have made 4 times (including right now) in the past 3 months. This time a double batch! The family loves this and gobbles it up fast! I make extra as we love the leftovers! They will even eat it for breakfast. The recipe is perfect "as is" but we do add veggies (frozen corn, peas, green beans etc) for a complete meal. With cheese added at the end or not, it's so comforting! I always use almost the whole bag of tater tots to cover the entire top. I could make this once a week and the kiddos wouldn't tire of it! Thanks for a great recipe that makes everyone happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I am making this for the second time this month and it's only September 12! The only thing that I did extra was add frozen veggies and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeabornReed
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I used BBQ sauce instead of catsup, and added grated cheese at the beginning of the baking, not at the end. So, after 25 minutes, it was hot and bubbly around the tater tots. Also, I used the 'extra crispy' tots, so they were still crispy at the end of the baking. Delicious! So easy, and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Beef with onion as written is okay, but we did not like the ketchup or Worcestershire Sauce. Redo, easier and quicker,Campbell's Cr. of Ckn (our preference),1 cup milk, 3 cups grated cheddar,and hamburger browned with onion and garlic. I have also made this with breakfast sausage, 2 tbsp flour added after browned, cook another minute, add 1 1/2 c milk, stir thoroughly, add cr. of Chicken, stir thoroughly, put into pan, with 2 cups mozza and then 1 c cheddar layered on top. Cooked the tater tots off in separate pan for 15 minutes and then put them onto the casserole (less soggy preference for my kids). No additional seasonings added and the sausage makes a fine "gravy" to have with the tater tots!! Easy to change this up many different ways and even triples well. Add in corn, or other veggies, or other cheeses, or other sausage flavors, or taco seasoning on hamburger, or green chilies added.... Very flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Fast, easy, tasty, kids and family enjoyed it and asked for it again! I like the addition of the ketchup and particularly the Worcestershire sauce: it takes it to a more 'adult' level that everyone enjoys. Less soupy, more tasty! Please, if you make it the first time, prepare it as is! Without those additions, it's just meat and soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Was a pinch to make and the family gobbled it all up. I had to fight off the kids so my husband and I could have some. I had everything on hand and was quick and easy. Will be a weekday go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States