Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Read the reviews. We like things light and lower fat so here's my changes: used ground turkey. First sautéed onions and green bell pepper diced, reduced with a splash of white wine and broth, reduced for 3 mins. I had already browned the turkey, so added it to this mixture. Added cream of chicken soup, and half can of Hormel Turkey Chili ( for flavor), added a few jar jalapeño's chopped and season to taste. Sprayed oval casserole dish, put meat mixture then a light layer of Cheddar, topped with a bag of frozen mixed veggies. Top it with thawed Tater Tots. Baked at 350 for 50 mins, then broiled last 5 mins. Served shredded cheese at the table ( this saves calories)Tators were crunchy and the meat had good flavor. Hubby was surprised and had seconds! Will make this easy comfort recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuleeM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just okay for me. Something I can go to in a pinch, but not a must have for me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tasty, warm comfort food...very similar to shepherd's pie but with a mushroom, cream gravy, instead of a beef gravy. Fast to make and easy to reheat leftovers. I like my food very flavorful so I used all the seasonings in original recipe plus some garlic powder, extra ketchup, a second can of cream chicken soup (next time I will try cream of celery), shredded carrots, frozen peas, chopped one stalk of celery and pepper to taste. Covered with layer of shredded cheese and covered the entire casserole with tots. If you are watching sodium intake, don't add salt to the recipe and maybe try no salt cream soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spfldgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My husband and I really loved this casserole. Neither of us had ever had one before so we were pleasantly surprised. The only thing I added was garlic while browning the ground beef and onions. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I was surprised because I really like each of the ingredients alone and it got so many good reviews. Maybe it would be okay without the Worcestshire. The tang of that with the mushroom soup was an unpleasant combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We like this recipe. I leave out the onions, and use onion flakes. I have family members who do not like real onions. Otherwise this recipe is darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
i only use meat, cream of mushroom and tattors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a simple and delicious staple in every American home! It was delicious! I have read some reviews and think that it is fun to 'tweak' the recipe a bit, adding veggies or cheese to the top, using Sweet Baby Rays instead of ketchup, or switching the hamburger for turkey! I am happy to have come across this recipe and will remember this and the adjustments to try again next time! It was a hit with my husband and kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe is good. I don't cook my burger just flatten it out on the bottom of the pan. I would add a little milk or sour cream to the soup. Also add a layer of shredded chesse before the tots or fries. This isn't diet food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
5 stars because this is the easiest tater tot casserole I've ever made, it's ridiculously quick, and it was good as is with no modifications. I also like the Duggars' tater tot casserole recipe, but it's too heavy on the potatoes. This recipe was better balanced. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States