Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Excellent base recipe, but made some changes,1-lb ground Turkey, 1- med onion,chopped, 2 Tablespoons minced garlic, 1/2 cup green peppers,chopped 1 can (5oz forgot to look) chili peppers drained, 1/2 bag frozen mixed veggies, 1 can cream of chicken soup,3-Tbls Worcestershire sauce, 3- Tbls BBQ sauce (sweet rays) 1-tsp liquid smoke, 2TBLs- 21 Salute spice (trader Joe's), 2-tsp smoked paprika,1-2 tsp cracked black pepper, 1/4- 1/3 cup chicken broth, 1/3 cup milk, 2 TBls corn starch, 1- cup shredded cheddar cheese, 36 oz bag of tater tots. Cook ground turkey a bit then add onions, garlic, green peppers, can of chili peppers, I add the Spices 21 salute, smoked Paprika, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, BBQ sauce, liquid smoke continue cooking, add 1/2 bag of mixed veggies,chicken broth cook for about 15 mins the add corn starch to the milk, mix and add to meat and veggie mixture let thicken about 5-10 mins, pour into greased 11x9 pan top with shredded cheddar cheese. Take tots and mince in food processor not to small...then top the mixture with chopped tots, put in oven cook 20 mins then broil to crisp the top......came out added more cheese to top but very little didn't want tots to get mushy, came out awesome thick and filling my guys (hubby son 17,son 22) loved it so much they ate the whole pan. Looks like a lot of work but it took me about 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Latsch Matheny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I add frozen peas and sprinkle cheese on top before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I added cheese to the top of mine, and used onion powder instead of chopped onion. This dish turned out great! My roommate loved it and so did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I do my recipe completely different. I leave out ketchup and w. Sauce. I do 2lbs ground beef, 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup and seasonings and then add the tator tots and bake it. Add ketchup at the end if u like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Its okay. Its not something I would go out of my way to tell everyone about or rush to make for company. Its more of something you would make when you have random ingredients around that you need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I dont care for any tater tot casserole at all, but my husband loves it. I dont use ketchup or Worcestershire but I do add some onion soup mix to the beef after browning with just a touch of water and let it cook off - like when using taco seasoning. I also add shredded cheddar the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Good stuff. Even better if you omit the ketchup and Worcestershire and add a can of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was searching for a kid-friendly recipe as I have four picky yet adventurous kids. I made this exactly to a T. It turned out "soupy" and it just spread out across the plate. You know kids are very visual eaters, so the appearance didn't go well. They tried it and only one liked it. They said it had a weird flavor, I know it was the Worcestershire and ketchup combo. My husband and I didn't mind it, if I make this again, I would omit-add, a few of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Used ground chicken and threw in some peas. Turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have tried this recipe and followed it. Instead of using cream of mushroom I used cream of chicken was very tasty my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States