Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love tater tot casserole, this recipe is much the same as mine, but I don't add ketchup. I also add a drained can of corn and a drained can of green beans for extra nutrition, and a 1/2 cup of milk mixed in to loosen it up and stretch the soup. MMMM MMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My wife whipped up a batch of this stuff on a busy weeknight, and after a few bites we both agreed that this is a little casserole that fires on all cylinders. Maybe it's the charming simplicity of the preparation, or the childhood memories brought up by the tater-tots, but we found this concoction to be surprisingly scrumptious; it's got plenty of flavor, and a nice variation in textures. I suppose it should be noted that we used ground turkey breast instead of ground beef, and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was really good. I followed the recipe but added cheddar cheese and mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is such a great dish! I did make a few changes and wouldn't change a thing: I didn't add any ketchup. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup so it wouldn't be too dry, I added a can of drained french style green beans, sauteed mushrooms and then before putting on the tater tots, I layered the top of the meat mixture with Velveeta slices and topped that with french fried onions and then put the tator tots on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great, except I kind of changed a lot of stuff. I left out the worcestershire altogether, and I only added ketchup at the end- for dipping. I also added a package of frozen chopped broccoli- so that we could get our vegetables in. It was good. The broccoli really lended itself to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is awsome, i was raised on this recipe also, we just do not add the catsup and worshershire , and we add some grated cheddar cheese on top just before taking out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Toy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
After reading this recipe, and the review that was left. I followed the directions perfectly and then took the first reviews advice and added some cheddar cheese, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I didn't use the ketchup, but I found the Worchestshire sauce to be a delicious addition to this. It really added to the flavor. My entire family gobbled it up. We always have leftovers, but not with this one. It was actually requested that I make a BIGGER pan of it next time. lol thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is good if you're looking for something quick and very easy. It probably doesn't need all the onion but it does have good flavor. I think next time I'd coat the entire top with tator tots...it kind of helps even out the mushiness. I'll probably make it again if I get in a crunch for time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Taylor
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This wasn't bad for a quick and easy meal. I put the hashbrowns over the entire top. I have a family of 5 and I think next time I will make 2 pans. The kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States