Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Beef with onion as written is okay, but we did not like the ketchup or Worcestershire Sauce. Redo, easier and quicker,Campbell's Cr. of Ckn (our preference),1 cup milk, 3 cups grated cheddar,and hamburger browned with onion and garlic. I have also made this with breakfast sausage, 2 tbsp flour added after browned, cook another minute, add 1 1/2 c milk, stir thoroughly, add cr. of Chicken, stir thoroughly, put into pan, with 2 cups mozza and then 1 c cheddar layered on top. Cooked the tater tots off in separate pan for 15 minutes and then put them onto the casserole (less soggy preference for my kids). No additional seasonings added and the sausage makes a fine "gravy" to have with the tater tots!! Easy to change this up many different ways and even triples well. Add in corn, or other veggies, or other cheeses, or other sausage flavors, or taco seasoning on hamburger, or green chilies added.... Very flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Fast, easy, tasty, kids and family enjoyed it and asked for it again! I like the addition of the ketchup and particularly the Worcestershire sauce: it takes it to a more 'adult' level that everyone enjoys. Less soupy, more tasty! Please, if you make it the first time, prepare it as is! Without those additions, it's just meat and soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Was a pinch to make and the family gobbled it all up. I had to fight off the kids so my husband and I could have some. I had everything on hand and was quick and easy. Will be a weekday go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
You've got to cover the entire casserole with tater tots, that's the kids favorite part! I let it cook 10 extra minutes, for a nice, crunchy topping. I also added green beans, for some extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My grandmother use to make this ALL the time! Minus the Worcestershire sauce (she never added it in), IT'S GREAT! I deiced to add the Worcestershire sauce, and let me tell you.. it made a world of a difference. I love this recipe and my son ate three plates! He is a VERY picky eater, and loved this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was different but it was really yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Rock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I had 4 people to feed, 3 of them being men and boys with big appetites. I prepared as described but it sure didn't look like very much so I added another can of mushroom soup and some mixed vegetables. I took one of the reviewers advice and covered the top with tater tots. Good thing I did because every bit was gone and they were wanting more. Next time I'll double it and probably add two cans of soup and more veggies. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! I browned the tots in oven while I was cooking the meat. I used 2 lbs of meat. 1 can mushroom soup and 2 table spoons of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also added some heavy cream in the mixture. Baked for 15 minutes and then added 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese and baked another 10 minutes. The flavor is outstanding! Also added a can of drained green beans. Well worth making..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was great! Brought back memories of my mom's home cookin'. I did a coule of tweaks. I added 1/2 cup of peas, and 1/2 cup of sour cream to the meat mixture. I also sprnkled some cheddar cheese on top of the meat mixture before topping it with the tater tots. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States