Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Krbinggeli
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was a pretty good meal with several tweaks. I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can cream of chicken. I felt it needed more than one can and I was right. I added a bag if frozen mixed vegetables to the pot with the meat mixture. I also omitted the ketchup. I baked for 25 minutes added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the top and baked for another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krbinggeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I gave 5 only because I used it as a "base recipe" instead ground beef I tore apart 4 5 oz cube steaks and seasoned with garlic salt,onion salt,chicken boulon (sp?),pink sea salt ,pepper and cavender's greek seasoning cooked that up and drained. While cooking preheated oven to 350 instead of 425 . I did two cans of cream of mushroom full flavor not reduced sodium or fat free. Added about 8 oz of whole milk. 2 cans of corn mixed well then added the cooked. Then added about half a bag of tots mixed well and topped with the rest of the bag of tots. Covered with the glass top for my casserole dish. Baked for 55 mins and removed the top for the last 5 minutes. It turned out amazing lots of flavor the tots were fully cooked and nice and browned on the top. It was much better than other recipes I had tried where the flavor was bland and the tots never seemed fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilaire Watkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I actually dice up bell pepper, celery, & onion with a tiny bit of minced garlic. I like a lot of flavor in my food. I have never added the Worcestershire sauce or ketchup, but I may add it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arris Storm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Love the recipe because its so simple and you can do different things with it. No Worcestershire sauce so I used A1 in place and added bratwurst and cheese. Totally grubbilicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Good! I used Nature's Promise ground turkey in place of the beef. Added frozen corn to the pan & heated a couple minutes before putting in baking dish. Baked the allotted time then added 2 cups Nacho Cheese on the tater tots. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OK -- always thought this was a rather gross recipe but hubby grew up on it so I caved. I did half a can of corn, a quarter of a can of each: cheddar cheese soup, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. Took the BBQ sauce tip and used instead of ketchup and added about a tablespoon of fresh basil just because. Baked and sprinkled with shredded parmesan because that's what I had. It was really good! I baked it in the toaster oven because it is July in MS and I think I don't have to explain---but yes, it was good. Now off to the treadmill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gorgeousred

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T, except that I used French Fries instead of the tater tots (due to a picky eater) and it turned out good. Could've used some cheese or maybe even the French fried onions like someone suggested. It is different than the normal tater tot casserole, if that's what you're looking for. There was only a little left in the pan between three people and two babies; had to taste somewhat good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Not bad. I added a layer of french cut green beans and cheese on top. Not great, but not bad either, just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a great basic recipe, just omitted the ketchup, and used soy sauce instead of worcestershire sauce. Oh, and I added Chedder Cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was easy and quick to make. I used ground turkey instead of beef, added a can of cream of chicken and mushroom, 1/2 cup of milk and a drained can of corn. I also swapped sweet baby rays bbq for the ketchup. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice O'Brien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States