Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I had 4 people to feed, 3 of them being men and boys with big appetites. I prepared as described but it sure didn't look like very much so I added another can of mushroom soup and some mixed vegetables. I took one of the reviewers advice and covered the top with tater tots. Good thing I did because every bit was gone and they were wanting more. Next time I'll double it and probably add two cans of soup and more veggies. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! I browned the tots in oven while I was cooking the meat. I used 2 lbs of meat. 1 can mushroom soup and 2 table spoons of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also added some heavy cream in the mixture. Baked for 15 minutes and then added 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese and baked another 10 minutes. The flavor is outstanding! Also added a can of drained green beans. Well worth making..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was great! Brought back memories of my mom's home cookin'. I did a coule of tweaks. I added 1/2 cup of peas, and 1/2 cup of sour cream to the meat mixture. I also sprnkled some cheddar cheese on top of the meat mixture before topping it with the tater tots. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was pretty good and can easily be made into your own, using just about any variation you like. Will make again since it went over well with the kids and husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Tried it as is and I think it's okay. Next I added spices to the meat, a little extra Worcestshire, french green beans and cheese. I personally like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was great -both easy and satisfying. Because we were out of Cream of anything soup, substituted a can of Campbell's Beef gravy, and I think we will always cook this with the gravy in place of the soup. I did sprinkle a little freshly grated medium sharp cheddar on before covering the entire dish with tater tots. Used a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I've been making a variation of this for a few years now, we use a can of cream of celery soup along with the mushroom soup and mix about half a cup of shredded cheese in with it, sprinkling more cheese on top of the tater tots. Yummy comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My family absolutely loves this recipe. Super easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVAUGHN69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Read the reviews. We like things light and lower fat so here's my changes: used ground turkey. First sautéed onions and green bell pepper diced, reduced with a splash of white wine and broth, reduced for 3 mins. I had already browned the turkey, so added it to this mixture. Added cream of chicken soup, and half can of Hormel Turkey Chili ( for flavor), added a few jar jalapeño's chopped and season to taste. Sprayed oval casserole dish, put meat mixture then a light layer of Cheddar, topped with a bag of frozen mixed veggies. Top it with thawed Tater Tots. Baked at 350 for 50 mins, then broiled last 5 mins. Served shredded cheese at the table ( this saves calories)Tators were crunchy and the meat had good flavor. Hubby was surprised and had seconds! Will make this easy comfort recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuleeM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just okay for me. Something I can go to in a pinch, but not a must have for me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States