Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jsgamer117
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Made this the other evening, added some garlic powder before browning the meat, while the meat was browning I added peas and carrots for more flavor and added shredded cheese before baking. Best meal I've had since leaving the Navy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This is one of those recipes that's good in a pinch because we often have these ingredients or substitutes on hand! We don't eat meat so I used Beyond Meat (an excellent choice) and Cream of Asparagus (our favorite) and I also added some frozen corn. I think you can add any veggie. Corn just happened to be what I needed to finish from the freezer. Ketchup didn't sound good with this cream soup so I omitted it. No Worcestershire in our pantry, but Bragg's liquid aminos and some liquid smoke made the meat/soup/veggie mixture taste delicious! The casserole baked at 425 for 20 minutes and then I added shredded cheddar and baked for 10 more minutes. Absolutely ideal. The cheesed up tater tots were crunchy and the mixture beneath still creamy. A good, easy stick to your ribs dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I made this once and my boyfriend loved it! I will make this again soon! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Made this but more adult friendly, Made home made cream of mushroom with thyme and chives with shallots. Morels' and shitake mushrooms. Heavy cream. Continue rest of recipe. best meal ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Mattox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
i was looking all over for a good Tater Tot Casserole, should have known to just start with the allrecipes web sight! thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this a few months ago for my grandmother and I didn't think that I was going to like it but it was really good. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Winchester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I never would have thought a tablespoon of ketchup and a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce would make that big of an impact. I was wrong. I'm not a fan of Cream of Mushroom soup alone in a recipe. I'll use it but usually mixed with Cream of Celery. This time, I made the recipe exactly as written, with a little shredded cheese just because my family likes cheese. (And actually, it was more for show than for taste, that's how little I used.) The addition of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce altered the mushroom soup flavor perfectly. It added just a hint of zip. For my family, I tripled the ingredients and baked it in two 9x13 dishes. I used enough tater tots to completely cover the top of each of the casseroles so that was a bit more than what the recipe called for. My family loved it. Can't believe I haven't made this dish before now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
It's good base, but needs some help. I add garlic, bell pepper, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. I also add 1 pound of frozen mixed veggies that I microwave a few minutes to thaw and start the cooking. I don't like the sweetness ketchup adds, so I use a can of diced tomatoes. I brown the meat and mix everything in my cast iron skillet (or any oven safe pot) for an easy clean-up, one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
k, so I have made this several times and is is really good each time. I use ground turkey, no ketchup or Worcestershire sauce, a tsp of liquid smoke, 8 oz bag of mixed frozen vegetables, and some about 1/3 cup of almond milk to loosen up the soup. Added 1/3 tsp of celery seed seasoning, black pepper to taste and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top prior to going in the oven.I know this seems like a lot of alterations but you have to modify according to you and others that are eating it.Thanks for the recipe my picky 13 year old likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have a house full of picky eaters and this was a hit. As did strain 1 can of corn, 1 can of green beans, and added 1/2 c. Of milk to the soup mixture. This was just to add nutrition and volume to the meal. Makes just enough for a dinner with 5 BUUUT we will double next time for leftovers :-) super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States