Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very good!!!! I added 1/3 of chipotle sauce and seasoned the meat with cumin, paprika and garlic powder. After cooking was done I added cheese to the tots. No ketchup. Hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this several times now and everybody absolutely loves it! I did add some minced garlic and green bell pepper but that is it everything else I left the same. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Total comfort food. My family loved it. I used lean ground turkey and reduced sodium mushroom soup. To make it a bit more convenient, I used already frozen diced onions. Was a bit healthier, super fast to whip up and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laugh Often

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this version just to try it out. The ketchup gave it a sweet flavor that my family didn't care for. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good basic comfort food recipe that you can prepare as-is, or dress up however you see fit. I have added different spice and/or seasoning blends while cooking the beef and onions (taco seasoning is a nice change of pace, so is Penzeys Tsardust Memories/Russian blend). I also fill in the whole top with tater tots, and generally sprinkle the top with shreds of whatever cheese I have on hand. Adding various vegetables could be interesting...thus far, I've only ever added extra mushrooms. It's a good starting point for taking a comfort food classic some fun places, but it's great as written, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My family loved this and I've already made it a second time. Simple, tasty, a real comfort casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I had forgotten all about this classic dish. My children used to love having this for dinner when they were rather young. As they got older I had completely forgotten this comfort food. I have prepared this recipe many times as written and it was a great success, reminding me of childhood, comfort food at its best and great on a cold night. I was looking for a way to use leftover taco meat, pouring over recipes for tamale pie etc. I stumbled across Tater tot casserole and thought, why not? I didn't have to cook any hamburger so I used dried onion instead of fresh. I mixed the soup, ketchup, onion, Worcestershire sauce,and precooked meat, all in a large bowl. I then spooned it all into a greased dish, arranged the Tater tots, and sprinkled with cheese. I prepared the casserole during my lunch break and it is sitting in the fridge wrapped in foil, waiting for me to pop it in the oven when I get home from work tonight. I have made this dish also using the BBQ sauce that others have mentioned, and also adding a bit of sour cream if I have too much hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a pleasant surprise! My family ate it up and wanted more! Next time I will double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this the other night. It was great. I added cream of celery soup and some peas, corn and green beans to bulk it up a bit. Also put some french fried onions on top. Finished off with cheddar cheese for the last five minutes. Mmm mmmm good! We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
We tried this tonight and LOVED it. My son doesn't like cheese so just my husband and I sprinkled cheddar cheese on it and we would rate it a six! It is easy and super good! I went heavy on the ground beef and tater tots to make it bulkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States