Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this a few months ago for my grandmother and I didn't think that I was going to like it but it was really good. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Winchester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I never would have thought a tablespoon of ketchup and a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce would make that big of an impact. I was wrong. I'm not a fan of Cream of Mushroom soup alone in a recipe. I'll use it but usually mixed with Cream of Celery. This time, I made the recipe exactly as written, with a little shredded cheese just because my family likes cheese. (And actually, it was more for show than for taste, that's how little I used.) The addition of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce altered the mushroom soup flavor perfectly. It added just a hint of zip. For my family, I tripled the ingredients and baked it in two 9x13 dishes. I used enough tater tots to completely cover the top of each of the casseroles so that was a bit more than what the recipe called for. My family loved it. Can't believe I haven't made this dish before now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
It's good base, but needs some help. I add garlic, bell pepper, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. I also add 1 pound of frozen mixed veggies that I microwave a few minutes to thaw and start the cooking. I don't like the sweetness ketchup adds, so I use a can of diced tomatoes. I brown the meat and mix everything in my cast iron skillet (or any oven safe pot) for an easy clean-up, one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
k, so I have made this several times and is is really good each time. I use ground turkey, no ketchup or Worcestershire sauce, a tsp of liquid smoke, 8 oz bag of mixed frozen vegetables, and some about 1/3 cup of almond milk to loosen up the soup. Added 1/3 tsp of celery seed seasoning, black pepper to taste and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top prior to going in the oven.I know this seems like a lot of alterations but you have to modify according to you and others that are eating it.Thanks for the recipe my picky 13 year old likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have a house full of picky eaters and this was a hit. As did strain 1 can of corn, 1 can of green beans, and added 1/2 c. Of milk to the soup mixture. This was just to add nutrition and volume to the meal. Makes just enough for a dinner with 5 BUUUT we will double next time for leftovers :-) super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used this recipe as more of a guideline as I rarely follow them exact. I sauted 3\4 of a yellow onion, minced four garlic, and browned 1lb leaned ground turkey meat because I don't eat beef. I drained the onion, garlic and meat mixture added a package of frozen vegetables medley, Worcestershire, melted about a handful of shredded kraft Mexican cheese with a hint of Philadelphia, and two cans of cream of mushroom soup so it wasnt so dry. I poured the mixture in a glass pan and spring a light layer of Mexican cheese on top and put gator tots over the entire thing! Then I seasoned that with Season All and pepper, baked for about 30 minutes and served with Texas toast. Yum yum! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We make this all the time, it is my son's favorite. The only changes that I make are, I add milk to the soup to thin a little, a can of drained green beans, and instead of ketchup we use bbq sauce. I cover the casserole with shredded cheese. It is a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara yeats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
the hamiltons loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe. I had everything, except the mushroom soup, so I used Cream of Celery. It was yummy. Sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDeB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States