Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have been making this for a couple of years and I recieve nothing but raves about it. My children's friends now ask for it when they come to dinner. I usually make it without the topping, but either way is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a great & easy recipe! It was a hit at my housewarming party. I didn't use the cornflakes & extra butter and just kept it to the parm cheese & some extra chedder on top. I would go easy on the onions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is a good recipe, we omit half of the butter, and don't usually make it with cornflakes. The recipe needed a little punch, so we added a pepperjack cheese instead of cheddar, which helps a lot. The biggest drawback to this recipe is that although it tastes great and is easy to make, it is so unhealthy, 150% of your daily recommended fat intake in one serving. Ugh. We only make it once in a while (it's ok to have junk food occasionally).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!!!! I wanted this to be a dinner entree so i did the following. 1 lb ground beef browned, then I added in 1 cup of frozen chopped onion and 1 cup of frozen mixed veggies to the pan of beef. Seasoned this with herbs de province and then placed it in the bottom of the casserole dish. Instead of using 1)10.5 oz can of soup I used a large Family size can of Campbells Cream of mushroom and reduced the amount of sour cream i used. Topped the beef with the tater tot mixture and then sprinkled additional cheddar cheese and parm on top. Then I topped this with these new cracker crisps that Lays has come out with. They are their new Air Cracker crips in the cheddar flavor. melted the butter, combined the crackers with and topped the casserole. It was really good and even 10 times better 2 days later when we ate the left overs. DEFINATELY A KEEPER!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Sorry, but this was overpoweringly rich for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is a great base recipe. To make it more of a complete meal, I added: ground beef, a can of green beans and an extra can of soup. I also sautéed the onions prior to baking. This makes a lot of food. When cooking this for myself, husband and my 1 year old - I could half this recipe and still have enough to re-heat for the dinner the following night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I added 1 lb ground beef, halved the butter and used crushed cheez-its instead of corn flakes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I added 1 Pound Zesty Pork sausage, and some fresh garlic rather than powder, and I omitted 1/2 Cup Softened butter. I also used a box of white cheddar cheeze-its rather than corn flakes. It smelled fantastic, and tasted alright. I think there's too much sour cream, that's coming from a sour cream addict! NEXT TIME I make this, I will do the same changes I noted above, but halve the sour cream and add in another can of soup-- cream of chicken & Mushroom or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for my family tonight. I suggest not adding any additional salt as it made the dish too salty. I also did as another reviewer suggested and left off the cornflakes and used Durkee French Onions( be sure to cover half way through baking if you use these because they tend to burn if left uncovered too long)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Very good and easy. A new family favorite. Only changes made, based on other reviews: reduced softened butter to 1/4 cup, reduced sour cream to 8 oz and replaced excess w/8 oz cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States