Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I liked this recipe, so did my boys who are 4 & 2. I do suggest a couple changes though. *I added Shredded Cheddar Cheese to the mixture when I mixed all the ingrediants on the stove, as well as some of my own extra spices. It gives it that extra little hint of flavor and it was really yummy! *Also, the recipe calls for 10 3/4oz of milk, I added 10 oz (which is a cup) and it was just a little runny. I think I would only add 3/4 a cup next time. I will make it again though! It was fast, easy and a tummy pleaser! :) Thanks Andrew & Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
my husband and i along with both my children really liked this! i doubled the recipe and cooked 1 chopped onion with the grnd. beef along with 1 tblsp. montreal steak seasoning and 2 tblsp. worcestershire sauce. i added 1- 4 oz. can sliced mushrooms to the soup mixture and topped that with 1-2 cups shredded cheddar jack cheese before putting the tater tots on top. if you want the tots brown and crispy, turn the broiler on for 2-3 minutes at the end of cooking with oven door cracked. we think this dish has really good flavor for a simple week night meal. p.s. make sure you drain all juice out of bean and mushroom cans before adding to mixture and use half the milk called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAWNEEFINO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Very bland until I did a few things. This is what I did and turned out WONDERFUL!!!! I used 2 lbs of beef, 1 can cream of mushroom soup. No milk, 1 can of tomato soup, 1 can grren beans,and a whole bag of tator tots. I put the meat down in the pan mixed all the stuff together all but the tots put that over the hambuger them I put the tots on cooked covered for 50 min at 350 them I put 2 cups cheese on top and cooked until the cheese was melted....Turned out beautiful. My husband will ask for it 3 times a month and he don't like casseroles. My kids are the same way...Try this way and you will like it more. Rememebr to season the meat how you like I use allpine touch and all purpose seasoning salt and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have changed this recipe some, I use 1 lb. hamburger, 1 can of cream of mushroom, or chicken, or celery, or even onion soup, 12 oz. of shredded cheese and top with the tater tots. Some times I add onions to the meat when I brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4everLuuvd
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
As simple as this recipe was, it came out wonderful. I followed directions exactly. My husband isn't a "casserole" kind of guy but he LOVED it. My 19 year old son actually "licked" his plate. LOL I am now sending this recipe home with my son for him and his room mates to try themselves since it's so simple for them to make. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I'd been hunting for this recipe, it's one my brother likes. This was pretty good but kind of bland and runny. Add S&P and a little less milk, maybe some french fried onions under the tater tots would give it more flavor and maybe some worchestershire sauce on the burger while it's browning.. just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Didn't have much milk so I went through the reviews and improvised: I seasoned 1 lb. meat with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, and worcesteshire, and sauteed some diced poblano pepper with meat. I put the meat and peppers on the bottom of 9x13. I added a layer of French fried onions on top. Then, in the same skillet I cooked the meat in, I heated the cream of mushroom, 2 cans drained green beans, and 1 small can tomato sauce. I added this on top, then the tots, then some shredded cheese. Very homey and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I followed most of the recipe as it was and also made some other changes as suggested. I did the onion with the ground beef and since I couldn't find my garlic powder I used Grill Mates Montreal Steak seasoning. Like other people said, season it to taste. I didn't try it with the cheese but I did put a layer of Frence Fried onions on (yum)before the taters. Everyone, even hubby, loved it and he and I put a couple of spoons of sour cream on top of ours for the added kick. Super awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe was really good and the kids loved it. It was so easy my 4 year old was able to help. Maybe next time I will add a little pepper before baking for a little more flavor, and maybe a little less milk. But otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This was definately easy and fast to prepare, but my husband & thought it was only "ok" tasting. We give it 3-1/2 stars. I think it is a great recipe if you have kids though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States