Tater Tot Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very good. I added 1 lb. chopped meat, 3/4 tsp. garlic salt & half a diced onion to the bottom of the pan without greasing. I think next time I will use only 1/2 the sour cream & add a little milk to thin out the sauce. I will also use more cheese, maybe another cup to the top before adding the French-fried onions. Very good basic recipe that I will make again.*****edited to 5 stars from 4 with these changes****I put the browned chopped meat w/1/4 small sauteed onion & garlic salt on top of tater tots in greased casserole dish. I used only 1/2 the sour cream (8 oz) and added an additional cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese to the top before adding French fried onions and baking. With these small changes, this was definitely a 5 star recipe. My family devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband LOVED this. I would give it a five star rating for that alone (he's picky), but I thought the recipe as written, putting all tots on the bottom and then sauce on top, was less than desirable in the end. The tots at the bottom of the dish got no "love" from the above sauce that stayed put on the top, so they were very bland. However, I will try this recipe again, using frozen hash browns instead of tots and then MIXING the gooey mixture with the potatoes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
You can't go wrong with tater tots. This recipe made it legal to be the main dish. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Pretty good. My husband has been trying to find a match to a close friend who past aways recipe. He says this one is pretty close. Very easy to make and makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe! Just like I had growing up, but even a little bit better. I did add ground beef to make it more like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe. I added a few things: burger and onion, extra cheese and a little milk. It was AMAZING! Everyone in the family loved it and it was gobbled up before we knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this last night for a birthday cookout. I am currently living in Germany, so my ingredients may have differed slightly (had to use a make package of cream mushroom soup instead of the usual can of cream of soups that are found easily in the US.. and instead of French Fried Onions, I used crushed up "Onion Ring" chips). This was the one thing out of everything that was brought that was COMPLETELY gone at the end of the night. Hence why I gave it a 5 star rating. I was afraid it might be bland from what I had read, so I added salt/pepper and some Garlic Salt to the mix. Turned out great. The only bad thing I would say is that it turned out to be on the mushy side--similar to mashed potatoes. Still really good, but I would have like my tots to have maintained their crispiness, which I am sure is hard to do with the liquid mix that goes on top. Oh well. Still really tasty and I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
yummo!!! love this! i added a lil' ground beef to make it a full meal. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The sour cream mixture just sits on top of the tater tots. It never melts down or incorporates. Also, it's very heavy and just.... not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good! I added grounded beef, green beans and more tator tots and cheese. So I guess I turned it into a green bean cassarole, but very good none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian Akers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States