Tater Tot Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Yum yum yum. This was absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes out of necessity. I only had cream of celery, not cream of mushroom soup and I didn't have any french fried onions. Also, like a couple other reviewers I added 1lb of ground turkey which I added a diced onion too while cooking. This is a great "base recipe", and deliciously homey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was suprisingly excellent considering its simplicity! We loved it. I did add some ground beef to make it more of a main dish, but otherwise made exactly as written. You really don't need to change a thing. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Alrighty so I loved this recipe! I made this for my family. It was quick and easy to assemble! I made a change of my own. I added a pound of hamburger meat. I browned my meat and added garlic salt and pepper to taste. Then set asside. I put my tater tots in the bottom of my pan. Added mushroom soup mixure then put my hamburger meat. sprinkled a little of the onions over. then put more of the soup mix then onions and then topped off with tatertots!:) It came out delicious!:) I recommend this to anyone who has kids, can be assembled in the day time then pop it in the oven after kids are out of school or when ever! Enjoy!*:]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I love this recipe. I usually put the tator tots on top instead of the bottom, and add the onions to the top about 5 minutes before I take it out of the oven. I also usually throw in a few extra spices (garlic powder, red pepper flake, basil) and use the half the cheese in the sauce as suggested by another review. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this tonight with a few changes based on suggestions from other reviewers: 1) I browned ground beef with a diced onion and layered this over the tater tots 2) In the soup mixture, I added a can of french cut green beans, halved the sour cream to 8 oz (and glad I did! There was still a pretty distinct sour cream taste so I can imagine if i'd used the whole 16 oz), used 2 cups instead of 1 of shredded cheese and mixed in half a big can of ff onions 3) in the last 10 mins, put the other half of the ff onions over the top. Also, I baked for 35 mins at 425 bc I wanted to make sure the tater tots stayed crispy and it was perfect. The casserole was really tasty and filling! My boyfriend agreed. Loved the crunch of the ff onions. I wish I could taste the crm of mushroom more than the sc but that wasn't a huge issue. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I went with some of the above ideas and added a lb of lean ground turkey.. I mixed it with the soup and sour cream (I used Tofutti dairy free sour cream, susbsituted cream of chicken soup and left out the cheese). I pour the meat/soup/sour cream mix, topped with taters, added s &p on 1/2 I added smoked cheddar, chili power and chives! It was a Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very good. I added 1 lb. chopped meat, 3/4 tsp. garlic salt & half a diced onion to the bottom of the pan without greasing. I think next time I will use only 1/2 the sour cream & add a little milk to thin out the sauce. I will also use more cheese, maybe another cup to the top before adding the French-fried onions. Very good basic recipe that I will make again.*****edited to 5 stars from 4 with these changes****I put the browned chopped meat w/1/4 small sauteed onion & garlic salt on top of tater tots in greased casserole dish. I used only 1/2 the sour cream (8 oz) and added an additional cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese to the top before adding French fried onions and baking. With these small changes, this was definitely a 5 star recipe. My family devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband LOVED this. I would give it a five star rating for that alone (he's picky), but I thought the recipe as written, putting all tots on the bottom and then sauce on top, was less than desirable in the end. The tots at the bottom of the dish got no "love" from the above sauce that stayed put on the top, so they were very bland. However, I will try this recipe again, using frozen hash browns instead of tots and then MIXING the gooey mixture with the potatoes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
You can't go wrong with tater tots. This recipe made it legal to be the main dish. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Pretty good. My husband has been trying to find a match to a close friend who past aways recipe. He says this one is pretty close. Very easy to make and makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States