Tater Tot Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Family Staple!!! My sons favorite dish! You can use chopped chicken instead of beef, or even sage sausage (especially at breakfast). Yummy no matter how you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I added fresh mushrooms and about a teaspoon of minced (in the jar) garlic to my meat and onion. I think it can do without the cheese to save calories. I used a 8x10 casserole dish and used about 1/3 of a bag of tots. Oh and i added a layer of frozen peas. This is a very good comfort food kind of meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
yes but traded cream of chicken for mushroom very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a very good recipe. the only difference I do occasionally is add 1 jar gravy (or homade if I happen to have it) for one of the cans of soup. YUM!!!! Plus I add a small bag of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Yum! You gotta try subbing Cheddar Cheese or Nacho Cheese Soup instead of one of the other soups! Amazing! I did add some chopped onion and garlic while browning the meat and added a layer of frozen mixed vegetables and instead cooked on 400 degrees for 30 minutes and the taters browned nice and crispy. I didn't understand why it needed to cook for 1 hour when the only thing that needed to cook were the Tater Tots? Tossed a handful of shredded mexican cheese on top! I let everyone season with a seasoned salt & pepper blend at the table for their own taste. I added a photo of the glorious outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
It was awesome! Mixed everything in the skillet with the cooked ground venison and then added 1/2 cup mild cheddar to the mix and after baked for only 20 minutes, adding more mild cheddar on top for 3 minutes until melted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Really Enjoyed this... I hate mushroom soup so I just added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 1 cup milk in bowl... Added COOKED beef... Mixed well and added it to pan.. Added a layer of cheese on top.. Topped with tator tots and a few sprinkles of cheese... Baked @ 375 for 60 min...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this. After reading other reviews...I added chopped onion when browning the meat, changed the cream of celery soup to another cream of mushroom(that is what I had on hand), and I have no idea how much tater tots I used because I had a huge bag from Sam's Club and so I just covered the top. I didn't stir the tots into it so they were still crunchy which we all loved the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a great base recipe. I made a few tweaks to the original. I added chopped onion to the ground beef and seasoned them really well with kosher salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I also layered in a bag of mixed frozen veggies and used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery. I skipped the can of condensed cream to have a thicker sauce. You also don't need to thaw the tater tots beforehand. With an hour cook time they'll be plenty hot when they come out. My super picky husband loved this dish and had three helpings. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
oh we all love this...i live alone and when i make it the nieces and nephews want to know lol ...i do add a tsp of soy sauce to the soup mixture..and put shredded cheese on top during the last 5 mins of cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States