Tater Tot Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
My family doesn't eat pork. I know bacon is missed. I have substituted turkey bacon, shredded turkey ham, turkey sausage, chicken sausage and homemade beef sausage. I use colby jack, Mexican blend cheese, taco cheese or a mix that sounds good at the time. I have used milk, almond milk, skim milk usually only 1 cup. I use 4 eggs or egg substitute or 6 egg whites. I increase the oven temp to 375° and increase the cooking time to 45 to 50 minutes, but since all ovens are different, I start checking after 30 minutes. If I make for dinner I add some veggies like green onion, finely chopped broccoli or spinach, green peppers or finely chopped jalapeños. I have made a taco version with taco seasoned ground turkey, beef or chicken. There is no end to the options. My family loves it. I usually serve with gravy and biscuits or toast, just depends on how many people are eating. This is so easy and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Made this before my daughters early volleyball games. It was hit in my house even had seconds. I made it just as the directions listed and came out perfect. I going to try chorizo sausage next time ?? Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Everyone loved this casserole! I followed other reviewers and increased the eggs and cheese, 5 eggs and 3 cups of cheese. I added salt and pepper to the egg/milk mixture and used Ore Ida Extra Crispy tater tots--I did not pre-bake the tots, but did broil for a few minutes when the casserole was done and they were crispy, not soggy at all. I set this up the night before, minus the tots, and also followed the 375 degrees/45 minute bake time--perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made it for an office breakfast this morning. It was a big hit and several people asked for the recipe. I used four eggs as others suggested and half and half because that's all I had. Will be making this again. Would be perfect for Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
pre cooked tots with seasoning (garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, s & p). 2 eggs to 2 cups milk sounded way too soupy so I went with 5 eggs. I increased cheese to 3 cups and used one cup for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just tried this and it was delicious!!! I changed a few things and it was the perfect consistency and flavor. First I diced & cooked both 1/2lb of sausage and one package of thick cut bacon. I placed the meat in the bottom of a 3qt casserole dish and sprinkled 1/2 cup of the shredded cheese over the meat. Then I mixed 4 eggs, 2 cups of milk, 1 cup of shredded cheese, 4 ounces of softened cream cheese, salt, pepper, and some garlic salt in a mixing bowl until the eggs are whisked and the consistency is a smooth as it can be with all those ingredients. Then pour the mixture over the sausage, bacon & cheese. Once the mixture is down I topped it with a 1lb bag of extra-crispy ora-ida tater tots. I have no idea how I would have fit the recommended 2lbs of tots on my casserole as 1lb more than adequately covered my casserole. I then baked at 350 for 25 minutes. At the end of the bake time, I sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese over the top of the tater tots and baked another 10 minuted. Then I let it stand for 5 minuted and it was perfect. Not to milky. Not bland. Just perfect! Give it a shot. I guarantee you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have not had my family complain once about this recipe. I do use an extra egg and last night I added cubed ham to the mix. I also swapped out American cheese for the cheddar due to not having cheddar on hand last night. It's good as written or with the minor changes. I always get the same response "It's good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Tweeted it a bit. For a big casserole dish I used a dozen eggs and 1 1/2 cups of milk. Came out a lot more fluffier. Also cook tater tots (as directed on package) separately then place on ALL READY COOKED egg mixture then bake a bit more to melt together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Instead of milk I used sour cream. Worked like a charm. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States