Tater Tot Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this for a mom's group that I'm a part of and the ladies loved it! There was only about a spoonfull left over. Like others, I used 4 eggs and about 2 1/2 cups of cheese. I also used the smaller crispy crowns tater tots and baked them for about 10 minutes before adding them to the casserole because I noticed other posters said the tots were a little mushy and it seemed to do the trick. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I frequently use bring this to company breakfasts. I refrigerate the recipe overnight, and stick it in the oven before work. I usually substitute bacon for sausage, but have also made it meatless! Increasing the eggs to 4 makes a huge difference! If you are cooking it after it has been refrigerated, and are using 4 eggs, increase the temperature to 375, and cook for about 40-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We all loved this! I used Turkey Sausage, egg substitute, skim milk and Crispy Crowns instead. I also baked the Crispy Crowns about halfway first and placed them in the pan crunchy side down. The only complaint was that there were no leftovers! MMMMMMMMMM says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
mmm...mmm...mmm..Everyone liked it, even my picky eaters. I used 4 eggs instead of 2, was worried it might come out to runny with only 2. With the 4 eggs, it came out with a quiche like texture. Will definately make again. Think I'm gonna try bacon next time!! thanks for the recipe...its nice to have something new for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY EWING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This recipe is wonderful. Made it several times. It's my granddaughter's favorite. But using 4 eggs and increasing cheese to 3 cups makes it even better. Also increase baking time few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StephC72
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this for my daughter's slumber party, and all 7 of the girls (11 year olds) loved it and wanted seconds. My husband ate what was left, and loved it so much that is going to the store for more tater tots so we can have this again today!! I also used 3 cups of cheese, and 4 eggs, cooked it at 375 degrees for 40 mins...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I had a small group of women and their babies over for an afternoon, and was looking for an easy casserole to make. I was a little hesitant to make a tater-tot casserole at first...it just didn't seem "adult" enough. And, my husband is very "anti-casserole"...he doesn't like them in general. But, since the ingredients seemed simple, and it WAS, after all, a Moms group, I decided to try it. They LOVED it. Everyone absolutely RAVED about it! I couldn't believe it...and every person, INCLUDING my husband who snuck into the kitchen for the goodies, went back for seconds! I did use 4 eggs and 3 cups of cheese as others had suggested, and it worked out perfectly. I have already given out the recipe to friends, and will use this recipe often myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I've made this a couple times now, both times increasing the eggs by 2 and the cheese to three cups. Cook temp of 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes and topped with a bit more shredded cheese and heated just until melted. I've substituted shredded beef for the breakfast sausage and served for dinner. Yum. I added some more flavor by adding a bit of salsa to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Oddly addictive! Used the popular brand sausage substitute and an additional egg (as recommended by previous reviews) it did need salt but it seemed the more I ate the more I liked it. My toddler tore it up! I did have to add a bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I cooked the sausage the night before. The next morning, I pretty much cooked the tater tots fully (maybe 5 mins. short of full cooking time) and put them in a 9x13 pan as a base. I crumbled the sausage over tots and poured the 2 cups of milk and 6 egg mixture over everything. I finished it off with 3 handfulls of cheese. Cooked for 40ish minutes to a nice goldern brown. It came out FABULOUS! The tots "melted" together and came out very much like hash browns with eggs, sausage and cheese on top. The extra extra eggs gives it much more flavor and makes it more substantial. Season to taste. Will be giving up the bread version of this as the tots give much better flavor! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volleygirlie14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States