Tater Tot Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made it for an office breakfast this morning. It was a big hit and several people asked for the recipe. I used four eggs as others suggested and half and half because that's all I had. Will be making this again. Would be perfect for Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
pre cooked tots with seasoning (garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, s & p). 2 eggs to 2 cups milk sounded way too soupy so I went with 5 eggs. I increased cheese to 3 cups and used one cup for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just tried this and it was delicious!!! I changed a few things and it was the perfect consistency and flavor. First I diced & cooked both 1/2lb of sausage and one package of thick cut bacon. I placed the meat in the bottom of a 3qt casserole dish and sprinkled 1/2 cup of the shredded cheese over the meat. Then I mixed 4 eggs, 2 cups of milk, 1 cup of shredded cheese, 4 ounces of softened cream cheese, salt, pepper, and some garlic salt in a mixing bowl until the eggs are whisked and the consistency is a smooth as it can be with all those ingredients. Then pour the mixture over the sausage, bacon & cheese. Once the mixture is down I topped it with a 1lb bag of extra-crispy ora-ida tater tots. I have no idea how I would have fit the recommended 2lbs of tots on my casserole as 1lb more than adequately covered my casserole. I then baked at 350 for 25 minutes. At the end of the bake time, I sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese over the top of the tater tots and baked another 10 minuted. Then I let it stand for 5 minuted and it was perfect. Not to milky. Not bland. Just perfect! Give it a shot. I guarantee you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have not had my family complain once about this recipe. I do use an extra egg and last night I added cubed ham to the mix. I also swapped out American cheese for the cheddar due to not having cheddar on hand last night. It's good as written or with the minor changes. I always get the same response "It's good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Tweeted it a bit. For a big casserole dish I used a dozen eggs and 1 1/2 cups of milk. Came out a lot more fluffier. Also cook tater tots (as directed on package) separately then place on ALL READY COOKED egg mixture then bake a bit more to melt together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Instead of milk I used sour cream. Worked like a charm. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teri
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used 4 eggs as well and added green chili, onion, salt, pepper and a little garlic powder to the egg mixture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is always a big hit. I'm always asked to make this for any family function. The husband can't get enough. I usually have to make two one for him. Lol. The only thing I changed is I use a 1/12 cups of milk, pancake syrup and 3 eggs. Takes a little longer to cook but has great consistency. Salt pepper and garlic to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Really good! Added some extra stuff, onion, salt & pepper, garlic powder, an extra egg, and cut back the milk to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 sour cream. Next time I think I'll add some fresh diced tomato, or a can of rotel would be nice! Thanks for the awesome recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States