Tater Tot Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The only thing I would do different next time is add a dash of garlic powder and serve with Sour Cream! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MADDIEJON
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good. I added corn to the mix and it was just like Shepard's Pie! As others suggested , I put the tots on top so they were crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
For more flavor, try using a can of Campbell's beef gravy in place of the soup; use no milk but add a tablespoon each of ketchup and Worcestershire. Mix that with the browned beef and sautéed onions in the skillet before transferring to a 9x9 pan. Sprinkle with grated medium sharp cheese, then cover with tater tots (about 1/2 of the bag will do it). Cook at 425 for 25 minutes or so. Yum. Great for breakfast or dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
You can use any flavor of soup you like with this. I use Chunky baked potato and bacon. It does add more potato but my husband likes that flavor the best in this. I brown the meat with seasoning first and then add soup after draining the fat to heat everything at the same time, put the mixture into a 9 x 13 casserole and add a layer of shredded colby-jack then top with a single layer of tater tots and dot with more cheese. The tater tots turn out crispy this way. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I prepared this using the ingredients as listed, except I mixed the cooked beef/onion mixture with the soup, layering the tots on top and adding a layer of shredded cheese. Even while preparing this, I knew this recipe was a flop. It just reminded me of dog food. My husband said it was edible, but he'll eat anything. He didn't go for seconds like he normally would so I know he didn't enjoy it. One bite and I gave my plate to the dogs. This is one of those rare recipes with high reviews that have let me down tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Dee
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love quick and yummy recipes. I buttered the glass pan before spreading the meat. Then I sprinkled some cheese, added a full bag of frozen tater tots, poured the sauce, and finished with more cheese. Thanks for the recipe. Definitely a family delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I used to make something similar to this using a cream of chicken and hash brown potatoes (the diced kind). This is pretty good too with the cream of mushroom (and I don't like mushrooms). Only thing different is that I also tosssed in a can of corn on top of the ground beef. They have all sorts of creamed soups out there with herbs and garlic, might try one of those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heartandhome
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I have loved this recipe for 10 years now and shared my inspiration on my blog today! http://www.rubyellenphotography.com/blog/2014/4/24/tater-tot-casserole-basic-favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My guys really love this and it couldn't be easier. I do use more soup and tots than called for though. I also add garlic powder and tony's to the meat mixture and a little Worcestershire to the soup to punch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I personally add more beef (1.5 lbs), as we like a hearty meal. I also add a can of corn (drained) over the beef layer. I always put this recipe in a 9x13 pan, and it allows for amble leftovers. I also like to layer it this way, as I feel it cooks better: -Beef -Corn -Almost all of the Shredded Cheese -Tator Tots -Soup Mixture over Tator Tots (we like them softer, not crispy) -Rest of Shredded Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States