Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I enjoy eggplant, but haven't found a fried eggplant recipe that doesn't use oil on top of the stove. I didn't taste like a grease pattie. I have shared this recipe with friends and they have enjoyed it as much as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I will never bread eggplant any other way! I KNEW potato flakes were good for something aside from mashed potatoes!! I added some parmesan, basil and no-salt seasoning to the mix and ommitted the salt, but next time I WILL add a little salt b/c I feel it was needed... Also, make sure you use the full amount of butter or coat the slices with it before baking, b/c I cut the amount and some of my slices would not brown on both sides after I flipped them. You could also spray these with nonfat Pam or an olive oil spray for a healthier version... In any case, these are delicious and I will use potato flake breading for EVERYTHING! Can't wait to try it on fish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I tried this for supper tonight. Hubby was skeptical at the idea, but is now raving about it - and wants more! I added parmesan and garlic pepper to the potato flakes, did NOT add the salt, and used only as much butter as I needed for the amount of eggplant I was cooking. The eggplant came out crispy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
DH has grown eggplant for 3 years and this is the first time I have liked this veggie. I used no butter - just PAM - and added cayenne and Italian seasoning with Parmesan on top. It took more potatoes than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I added some onion & garlic powder and parmesan cheese to my flakes. Turned out crispy on outside and perfectly cooked eggplant on inside. I ate mine with a little bit of warmed up spaghetti sauce (I didn't have marinara :)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
my husband looked pretty disappointed at dinner when i said we were having eggplant... but he loved it and ate it up - yay! I used margarine instead of butter and added some extra spices like other reviewers said... I had a lot leftover and saved the potato flakes for another time... I think this would be a great way to dip zucchini rounds as well... I will make this again - it's easy and tastes great... though a bit on the salty side - i'd use 1/2 teaspoon salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! As a vegetarian I often have a hard time finding things that the whole family will enjoy. Eggplant is the hardest thing to serve to the family. They all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I haven't made this recipe yet so I can't review it. I just wanted to tell you all to check the sodium content of the potato flakes. Some brands are higher than others and that will effect the outome of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
To be honest I am not to crazy about eggplant, but I did try this recipe and change the regular instant potatoes to Idahoan Loaded Baked (Blended with butter, sour cream, cheese, bacon, onion & chives) and used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. Served them with some homemade salsa...and my friends could not keep from raving about the new appetizers I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was very tasty, just like fried eggplant! It's a great way to get the fried taste without stinking up your kitchen with a pot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States